basketball-men-d2 flag

Wayne Cavadi | | March 15, 2019

16 men's basketball players earned spots on the latest Bevo Francis Award Watchlist

Tommy Bolte is one of the 25 players still on the Bevo Francis Award Watch List

Small College Basketball released its Top 16 watchlist for the Bevo Francis Award for the 2019 season. The original list featured 100 players from DII, DIII, NAIA, USCAA, and NCCAA men's basketball, but the list now been shortened to just 16.

The award was created in 2015 and is named after Clarence "Bevo" Francis. Francis played two seasons at what is now the University of Rio Grande. In his first season, he led the team to a 39-0 record averaging 50.1 points per game, highlighted by a 116-point performance against Ashland College in Kentucky.

HISTORY: The complete list of DII men's basketball champions

Lincoln Memorial's Emanuel Terry was the winner of the 2018 award. Aside from averaging a double-double (16.9 points, 10.3 rebounds per game) for the school that finished atop the DII men's basketball regular season rankings, Terry was known for highlight-reel dunks that garnered the nation's attention.

Finalists will be announced on April 6. The winner will be announced on April 8. 

The complete watchlist is below in alphabetical order.

Tommy Bolte 6โ€™1โ€ Sr. Concord
Elisha Boone 6โ€™4โ€ Sr. WV Tech
Gage Davis 6โ€™5โ€ Sr. St. Cloud
Jacobo Diaz 6โ€™9โ€ Sr. Indiana (Pa)
Marcos Echevarria 5โ€™10โ€ Sr. Nichols
Aston Francis 6โ€™1โ€ Sr. Wheaton
Jeff Garrett 6โ€™7โ€ Sr. LSU-Shreveport
Ryan Garver 6โ€™3โ€ Sr. Nebraska Wesleyan
Tim Guers 6โ€™3โ€ Sr. St. Anselm
Tonzell Handy 6โ€™5โ€ Sr. Tougaloo
Juvaris Hayes 6โ€™0โ€ Jr. Merrimack
Amir Hinton 6โ€™5โ€ Jr.  Shaw
Daulton Hommes 6โ€™8โ€ Jr.  Point Loma
Trevor Hudgins 6โ€™1โ€ Fr.  Northwest Missouri State
Cameron Hunt 6โ€™4โ€ Sr. Southwestern (KS)
Jonathan Lawton 6โ€™2โ€ Sr. Florida Southern
Anthony Lee 6โ€™2โ€ Sr. Kutztown
Kyle Mangas 6โ€™3โ€ So. Indiana Wesleyan
Cam Martin 6โ€™9โ€ So. Missouri Southern
Kendale McCullum 6โ€™1โ€ Sr.  Lewis
Andrew Sischo 6โ€™9โ€ So. Daemen
Sam Vander Sluis 6โ€™8โ€ Sr. Cornerstone
Will Vorhees 6โ€™8โ€ Sr. Notre Dame (OH)
Shaun Willett 6โ€™4โ€ Sr. Queens (NC)
Joey Witthus 6โ€™7โ€ Sr. NW MO State


DII men's basketball: Daemen's Mike MacDonald records 100 wins in every NCAA division

MacDonald has coached at three colleges in three NCAA divisions over a span of 31 years โ€” 22 as a head coach โ€” all while living in the same community.

DII men's basketball: We picked a starting five based on the 2018-19 stat leaders

Here's the final DII men's basketball all-stats starting five of the 2018-19 regular season.

These DII menโ€™s basketball big men hope to dominate the paint this March in the NCAA tournamentย 

Here are five players hoping to make their impact felt in the DII men's basketball NCAA tournament this March.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners