March 8, 2009

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division II Men’s Basketball Committee announced today the field of 64 teams for the 2009 NCAA Division II Men’s Basketball Championship.

Twenty-two conferences have been awarded automatic qualification.  The remaining 42 teams were selected at large by the committee.

Seven of the regional tournaments, consisting of eight teams each, will be conducted March 14, 15 and 17 at regional sites.  The West regional will be conducted March 13, 14 and 17.  The eight quarterfinalists will advance to the finals at the MassMutual Center in Springfield, Massachusetts, March 25, 26 and 28.

Conferences that received automatic qualification are as follows: