March 8, 2009

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division II Men’s Basketball Committee announced today the field of 64 teams for the 2009 NCAA Division II Men’s Basketball Championship.

Twenty-two conferences have been awarded automatic qualification.  The remaining 42 teams were selected at large by the committee.

Seven of the regional tournaments, consisting of eight teams each, will be conducted March 14, 15 and 17 at regional sites.  The West regional will be conducted March 13, 14 and 17.  The eight quarterfinalists will advance to the finals at the MassMutual Center in Springfield, Massachusetts, March 25, 26 and 28.

Conferences that received automatic qualification are as follows:

California Collegiate Athletic Association - Cal State, San Bernardino
Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference - Philadelphia U.
Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association - Johnson C. Smith     
Conference Carolinas - Barton     
East Coast Conference - C.W. Post
Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Findlay
Great Lakes Valley Conference - Northern Kentucky
Great Northwest Athletic Conference - Western Washington   
Gulf South Conference - Arkansas Tech
Heartland Conference - Incarnate Wood
Lone Star Conference - Midwestern State
Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association - Central Missouri    
Northeast-10 Conference - Assumption     
Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference - St. Cloud State
Pacific West Conference - Brigham Young-Hawaii     
Peach Belt Conference - Augusta State
Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference - Gannon   
Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference - Metro State
South Atlantic Conference - Catawba
Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - LeMoyne-Owen
Sunshine State Conference - Florida Southern
West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Pittsburgh-Johnstown

Those institutions receiving at-large berths are, in alphabetical order, as follows:

Angelo State
Armstrong Atlantic
Augustana (South Dakota)
Cal State Dominguez Hills
Cal Poly Pomona
Central Washington
Christian Brothers
Dallas Baptist
Delta State
Fort Lewis
Grand Valley State
Humboldt State
Indiana (Pennsylvania)
Kentucky Wesleyan
Lake Superior State
Midwestern State
Minnesota State Mankato
Northern State
Seattle Pacific
South Carolina-Aiken
Southern Indiana
Southwest Baptist
Southwest Minnesota State
Texas A&M-Kingsville
Valdosta State
Virginia Union
West Virginia State
Winona State

Winona State defeated Augusta State 87-76 to win the 2008 NCAA Division II Men’s Elite Eight in Springfield.
For more information about the championship, log on to