June 4, 2009

NCAA Release

INDIANAPOLIS - The official countdown to the first NCAA Men's Final Four® held in Lucas Oil Stadium, and the sixth NCAA Men's Final Four in Indianapolis' history, commenced with the unveiling of the 2010 logo on Wednesday. The national semifinals will be played Saturday, April 3, 2010, with the national champion being crowned on April 5. Indianapolis hosted the 1980 NCAA Men's Final Four at Market Square Arena, then hosted again in 1991, 1997, 2000 and 2006 at the RCA Dome. Lucas Oil Stadium will also host the 2009 Men's Midwest Regional, with games taking place on March 27 and 29.

The Indianapolis-based Horizon League and Butler University will once again serve as co-hosts of the event. Horizon League Commissioner Jon LeCrone and Butler University Director of Athletics Barry Collier were joined by Mike Slive, who is the commissioner of the Southeastern Conference and chairs the NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Committee, and NCAA Executive Vice President Tom Jernstedt for the unveiling. Members of the Indianapolis Local Organizing Committee, including cochairmen George McGinnis and Jim Snyder, were also on hand, along with select students from The Oaks Academy, an Indianapolis-based liberal arts school for pre-kindergarten through eighth grade students.