March 1, 2010

Interactive Bracket | Printable Bracket


INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Men's Basketball Committee announced today the field of 61 teams for the 2010 NCAA Division III Men's Basketball Championship.

Forty conferences have been granted automatic qualification for the 2010 championship. Two independent teams (Pool B) and 19 other at-large teams from the remaining independent teams and automatic-qualifying conferences who did not receive their conference automatic qualification (Pool C) were selected by using specific selection criteria approved by the Division III Championships Committee.

Three two-team, first-round games will be conducted Thursday, March 4 with the winners advancing to play four teams which received first-round byes Saturday, March 6. Thirteen sites will host four teams for first- and second-round competition Friday-Saturday, March 5-6. Second-round winners will advance to one of four sectional-round sites March 12-13. Winners of the four sectional games will advance to the finals March 19 and 20. All games, except the finals, will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. The finals will be conducted at the Salem Civic Center in Salem, Virginia.

Conferences receiving automatic qualification are as follows:

Automatic Qualifier Team
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Medaille (23-4)
American Southwest Conference Mary Hardin-Baylor (22-6)
Capital Athletic Conference St. Mary's (Maryland) 24-3)
Centennial Conference Franklin & Marshall (23-4)
City University of New York Athletic Conference Brooklyn (22-6)
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Carthage (22-5)
Colonial States Athletic Conference Cabrini (25-2)
Commonwealth Conference Albright (21-5)
Commonwealth Coast Conference Gordon (24-4)
Empire 8 Nazareth (18-9)
Freedom Conference DeSales (22-5)
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Albertus Magnus (22-6)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Defiance (23-5)
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Central (Iowa) (23-4)
Landmark Conference Merchant Marine (23-4)
Liberty League St. Lawrence (16-11)
Little East Conference Rhode Island College (20-7)
Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference Bridgewater State (19-7)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Hope (21-7)
Midwest Conference St. Norbert (22-3)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Carleton (19-9)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Williams (26-1)
New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference Clark (Massachusetts) (16-12)
New Jersey Athletic Conference William Paterson (25-2)
North Atlantic Conference Maine-Farmington (14-11)
North Coast Athletic Conference Wooster (23-5)
North Eastern Athletic Conference SUNY Institute of Technology (24-4)
Northern Athletics Conference Aurora (18-10)
Northwest Conference Whitworth (25-2)
Ohio Athletic Conference Wilmington (Ohio) (21-7)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Guilford (26-2)
Presidents' Athletic Conference Grove City (19-8)
Skyline Conference Purchase (20-8)
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Westminster (Missouri) (20-7)
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (21-6)
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Centre (18-8)
State University of New York Athletic Conference Plattsburgh State (21-7)
University Athletic Association Washington U in St. Louis (23-2)
USA South Athletic Conference Christopher Newport (15-12)
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wisconsin-Stevens Point (23-4)
Pool B
Chapman (23-2)
Maryville (Tennessee) (23-4)
Pool C  
Anderson (Indiana) (22-5)
Brandeis (19-6)
Eastern Mennonite (22-4)
Illinois Wesleyan (20-7)
John Carroll (20-6)
Lycoming (21-6)
MIT (22-4)
Middlebury (24-3)
Oneonta State (22-6)
Randolph Macon (22-6)
Richard Stockton (20-7)
Rutgers-Newark (20-7)
St. John Fisher (22-5)
St. Thomas (Minnesota) (23-3)
Texas-Dallas (23-5)
Virginia Wesleyan (22-5)
Wesley (19-8)
Wheaton (Illinois) (18-8)
Wisconsin-Whitewater (22-5)

For more information about the men's basketball championship, log on to