F&M coach Glenn Robinson

Franklin & Marshall Athletics

For Glenn Robinson, it's just another round-number milestone.

After all he has never scored a point in the last four decades, so this milestone is more about the players, assistant coaches and the Franklin & Marshall community. On Wednesday evening with a 68-46 victory against conference rival Gettysburg, Robinson joined an exclusive club of coaches as he became the 13th coach in NCAA history with 800 victories.

Robinson, the career wins leader in Division III, improved his record to 800-300 and now stands fifth among all active coaches. He already passed legendary coaches like John Wooden, Henry Iba, Lou Henson, Lute Olson and Lefty Driesell.

Building a perennial powerhouse in Division III was not a smooth ride. As a young 25-year-old Robinson was charged with the task of rebuilding a program that previously went through seven consecutive losing seasons. It took only three years to turn the program around with a 13-11 mark in 1974, the programs' best record since a 13-6 performance in 1959. Robinson went on to reset the mark in 1976 with a 17-8 record. The record did not stand for long as he broke it again with 22 wins in 1977, again in 1979 with 27 victories, once more in 1991 with 28 and finally in 1996 with 29 victories.

The main reason for his success is without a doubt the personnel with which he has worked with.

Robinson has coached 15 men to 22 All-America honors. That list includes Will Lasky (1991 honorable mention, 1992 first team), Donnie Marsh (1977 and 1979 second team), Jeremiah Henry (1996 first team), Dave Jannetta (1994 honorable mention, 1995 third team), Brad Markey (1989 second team), Dennis Westley (1981 second team), Terry Scott (1988 third team), Phil Hoeker (1989 honorable mention), Chris Finch (1991 and 1992 honorable mention), Charlie Detz (1994 and 1995 honorable mention), Mike Mehaffey (1996 honorable mention), Alex Kraft (2000 first team, 2001 honorable mention), Steve Juskin (2004 honorable mention), Duran Searles (2004 honorable mention) and James McNally (2009 third team).

Robinson's list of accomplishments is remarkable to say the least. Last season, he picked up his 22nd season with 21-plus wins. He has earned conference and NABC Coach-of-the-Year honors a dozen times and was named and Basketball Times Coach of the Year in 2009 for guiding a young Diplomats squad to the final four. During the last 40 years, his teams have made 21 NCAA appearances, earning 15 bids to the Sweet 16, grabbing 15 conference titles, making nine trips to the Elite Eight with five national semifinal appearances and a title game bid.

Perhaps the most impressive accomplishment and one that means the most to Robinson is that of the 263 letterwinners he has coached, as all but one have earned a degree.

Now that all the hoopla has died down, Robinson can now concentrate on what means the most to him and his team. Securing homecourt advantage for the conference playoffs, winning the conference title, making the NCAA Tournament field and earning the right to host the NCAA playoffs.