Colorado Athletics

BOULDER, Colo. -- Colorado sophomore guard Alec Burks was named to the 2010-11 Naismith Trophy midseason top 30 men’s basketball list, announced Friday by The Atlanta Tipoff Club.

The 6-5 guard from Grandview, Mo., is one of four Big 12 players named to the list. He currently leads the conference in scoring for league-only games at 21.4 points per contest. Burks also ranks 20th nationally in scoring at 20 points per game on the season and is 70th in free throw percentage (84.3).

Last Wednesday, Burks became the 27th player in school history to score 1,000 career points (1,012), reaching the mark in only his 55th career game. He has led the Buffs in scoring seven consecutive games, which is a CU-best for consecutive scoring games during the 15 years of Big 12 play.

Burks, who was named the Big 12 Freshman of the Year a year ago, has led the Buffaloes in scoring 17 times this season with 15 scoring efforts of 20 points or more. Seven of his 10 Big 12 Conference games as leading scorer have been with 20 points or more.

Burks is part of the midseason 30 list that was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the 2010-11 college basketball season. The Naismith Trophy, presented by AT&T, will be awarded at the 2011 NCAA Men’s Final Four in Houston. 

Naismith Trophy Midseason Top 30
Name School Position Class
Alec Burks Colorado Guard Sophomore
Malcolm Delaney Virginia Tech Guard Senior
Marcus Denmon Missouri Guard Junior
Kenneth Faried Morehead State Forward/Center Senior
Jimmer Fredette BYU Guard Senior
Austin Freeman Georgetown Guard Senior
Jordan Hamilton Texas Guard/Forward Sophomore
Ben Hansbrough Notre Dame Guard Senior
Tu Holloway Xavier Guard Junior
Rick Jackson Syracuse Forward Senior
Charles Jenkins Hofstra Guard Senior
JaJuan Johnson Purdue Forward/Center Senior
Terrence Jones Kentucky Forward Freshman
Kawhi Leonard San Diego State Forward Sophomore
Jon Leuer Wisconsin Forward Senior
Demetri McCamey Illinois Guard Senior
Mickey McConnell Saint Mary’s Guard Senior
E’Twaun Moore Purdue Guard Senior
Marcus Morris Kansas Forward Junior
Kyle Singler Duke Forward Senior
Chris Singleton Florida State Forward Junior
Nolan Smith Duke Guard Senior
Jared Sullinger Ohio State Forward/Center Freshman
Isaiah Thomas Washington Guard Junior
Trey Thompkins Georgia Forward/Center Junior
Klay Thompson Washington State Guard Junior
Kemba Walker Connecticut Guard Junior
Brad Wanamaker Pittsburgh Guard Senior
Derrick Williams Arizona Forward Sophomore
Jordan Williams Maryland Forward Sophomore