NEW YORK -- The field for the 74th Annual National Invitation Tournament, will be announced at 9 p.m. ET Sunday on ESPNU.

The Committee will convene in Indianapolis on Friday to continue the process of selections that has been ongoing throughout the basketball season. The 2011 field again will feature regular season conference champions not selected to the NCAA Championship by receiving automatic qualification to the NIT.

C.M. Newton, a member of the Naismith Hall of Fame has served as chair of the Committee since 2005, when the NCAA began operating the NIT. He is joined on the Committee by Rudy Davalos, Don DeVoe, Reggie Minton, Jack Powers, Les Robinson, Bob Weltlich and Carroll Williams.

First round action for the NIT tips off on March 15 and 16; second round action is slated for March 18-21 with the quarterfinals tipping on March 22-23.

The NIT comes to New York’s Madison Square Garden for the semifinal doubleheader on March 29 with the championship game on March 31.

The ESPN networks, which include ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU and, will provide coverage of all 31 games of the NIT.