NEW YORK -- Two-time champion Syracuse headlines the 2011 NIT Season Tip-Off field, announced today by NIT selection committee chair C.M. Newton. The 27th annual tournament will also feature Albany (America East), Arkansas-Pine Bluff (SWAC), Brown (Ivy), Colorado State (Mountain West), Florida International (Sun Belt), Fresno State (WAC), George Mason (Colonial), Manhattan (MAAC), Monmouth (Northeast), Oklahoma State (Big 12), Oral Roberts (Summit), SMU (Conference USA), Stanford (Pac-12), Texas-San Antonio (Southland) and Virginia Tech (ACC).

The first- and second-round doubleheaders will be played Nov. 14-16 on the campuses of the four highest seeds -- Syracuse, Virginia Tech, Oklahoma State and Stanford. The winners of the preliminary rounds advance to the semifinals, which take place in New York City’s Madison Square Garden Nov. 23. The consolation and championship games will be played Nov. 25.

NIT Season Tip-Off
2011 Bracket
2010 Championship Recap

The remaining teams will play third- and fourth-round doubleheaders Nov. 21-22 on the campuses of the three highest remaining seeds. Participating teams will not play any team twice, and the third- and fourth-round games will be assigned to the most geographically compatible site.

“Once again, the NIT Season Tip-Off field is outstanding,” said Newton, a member of the Naismith Hall of Fame who is in his seventh year as chair of the NIT. “This year, we have two former champions with Syracuse (1988, 2001) and Oklahoma State (1991) along with teams that have experienced success in the postseason. There is also a good number of young clubs on the rise. This tournament has been an early showcase of the best in college basketball, and many times you see our teams competing deep in the NCAA Championships come March.” 

The sites and pairings are as follows:

• The North Regional will take place at Syracuse, where the Orange will host Manhattan and Albany squares off against Brown.          
• The East Regional will be held on the campus of Virginia Tech and the Hokies will meet Monmouth while George Mason faces Florida International.
• The Midwest Regional will be played at Oklahoma State with the Cowboys taking on Arkansas-Pine Bluff and Oral Roberts battling Texas-San Antonio.
• Stanford is the host team in the West Regional and will play Fresno State in one half of the doubleheader. Colorado State also takes on SMU.

ESPN will provide coverage throughout the event, televising games on ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU and

NIT Season Tip-Off Champions
Year Champion Year Champion
1985 Duke 1998 North Carolina
1986 UNLV 1999 Arizona
1987 Florida 2000 Duke
1988 Syracuse 2001 Syracuse
1989 Kansas 2002 North Carolina
1990 Arizona 2003 Georgia Tech
1991 Oklahoma State 2004 Wake Forest
1992 Indiana 2005 Duke
1993 Kansas 2006 Butler
1994 Ohio State 2007 Texas A&M
1995 Arizona 2008 Oklahoma
1996 Indiana 2009 Duke
1997 Kansas 2010 Tennessee