LAHAINA, Hawaii -- Three-time champion North Carolina and first-time participant Butler headline the field for the 2012 EA Sports Maui Invitational.

The rest of the teams that will play in the championship round at the Lahaina Civic Center are Illinois, Marquette, Mississippi State, Southern California, Texas and Division II Chaminade, the host school.

North Carolina won the tournament in 1999, 2004 and 2008. After their last two appearances, the Tar Heels went on to win the NCAA championship.

Butler, the NCAA tournament runner-up the last two years, and Mississippi State will be appearing for the first time.

The four Division I teams that will participate in the opening and regional games of the 2012 Maui Invitational will be announced later.

The 2011 tournament will be Nov. 21-23 and features Duke, Georgetown, Kansas, Memphis, Michigan, Tennessee, UCLA and Chaminade.