ATLANTA -- From Creighton to Weber State, players from universities in mid-major conferences make up nearly a third of the players to watch this season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Wednesday day with the release of its Naismith Men’s Basketball Player of the Year Award presented by AT&T Midseason 30 Watch List.

The midseason 30 list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the 2011-12 college basketball season. The Naismith Trophy will be awarded at the Final Four in New Orleans.

Additionally in the running are two players each from Kentucky, Missouri, North Carolina and Syracuse, along with 2010 Naismith High School Boy’s Player of the Year Jared Sullinger, now a sophomore at Ohio State University. Outside of mid-majors, the SEC and Big 12 boast the most nominees with five each, while the Big East and Big Ten each have four.

Since 2005, presenting sponsor AT&T has set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining the trophy winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging, fan voting will account for 25 percent of all of the final results -- more than any other national college basketball award.

Beginning this month, CBS’ coverage of college basketball will include the AT&T at the Half segment featuring a “Naismith Watch” update highlighting the players in contention for the award. 

Player School Position
Harrison Barnes North Carolina Forward
Will Barton Memphis Forward
Kenny Boynton Florida Guard
Isaiah Canaan Murray State Guard
Anthony Davis Kentucky Forward
Matthew Dellavedova Saint Mary's (Calif.) Guard
Marcus Denmon Missouri Guard
Draymond Green Michigan State Forward
John Henson North Carolina Forward
John Jenkins Vanderbilt Guard
Darius Johnson-Odom Marquette Guard
Kevin Jones West Virginia Forward
Perry Jones III Baylor Forward/Center
Kris Joseph Syracuse Forward
Michael Kidd-Gilchrist Kentucky Forward
Damian Lillard Weber State Guard
Scott Machado Iona Guard
Doug McDermott Creighton Forward
Dominique Morrison Oral Roberts Forward
Mike Moser UNLV Forward
Arnett Moultrie Mississippi State Forward
Phil Pressey Missouri Guard
Thomas Robinson Kansas Forward
Mike Scott Virginia Forward
Jared Sullinger Ohio State Forward
Jordan Taylor Wisconsin Guard
Dion Waiters Syracuse Guard
Royce White Iowa State Forward
Tony Wroten Washington Guard
Cody Zeller Indiana Forward