ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- After leading Michigan to its first Final Four appearance in 20 years, sophomore guard Trey Burke earned the John R. Wooden Award and the U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) Oscar Robertson Trophy, presented to the Men's Basketball Division I National Player of the Year, on Friday.

He becomes the first Wolverine in program history to receive the Wooden Award and second to earn the Oscar Robertson, joining U-M legend Cazzie Russell (1966).

The Oscar Robertson Award, given annually by the USBWA, was formerly known as the USBWA Player of the Year Award until it was renamed in honor of two-time award winner, Oscar Robertson, in 1998. Russell garnered the USBWA Player of the Year Award in 1966.