basketball-men-d3 flag | March 3, 2014

DIII tourney field revealed

Selection Show | Bracket: Interactive | Printable

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Men’s Basketball Committee on Monday announced the field of 62 teams for the 2014 NCAA Division III Men’s Basketball Championship.

Forty-two conferences have been granted automatic qualification for the 2014 championship. One independent team (Pool B) and 19 other at-large teams from the remaining independent teams and automatic-qualifying conferences who did not receive their conference automatic qualification (Pool C) were selected by using specific selection criteria approved by the Division III Championships Committee.

Two first-round games will be conducted Thursday with the winners advancing to play Saturday against teams that received first-round byes. Fourteen sites will host four teams for first- and second-round competition Friday-Saturday. Second-round winners will advance to one of four sectional-round sites March 14-15. Winners of the four sectional games will advance to the semifinals and finals March 21 and 22. All games, except the semifinals and finals, will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. The semifinals and finals will be conducted at the Salem Civic Center in Salem, Va.

Conferences receiving automatic qualification are as follows:
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference -- Penn St.-Behrend (23-4)
American Southwest Conference -- Texas-Dallas (25-3)
Capital Athletic Conference -- Mary Washington (22-5)
Centennial Conference -- Johns Hopkins (17-10)
City University of New York Athletic Conference -- York (N.Y.) (21-7)
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin -- Wheaton (Ill.) (19-8)
Colonial States Athletic Conference -- Cabrini (25-1)
Commonwealth Conference -- Alvernia (20-7)
Commonwealth Coast Conference -- Gordon (17-10)
Empire 8 -- Hartwick (18-9)
Freedom Conference -- DeSales (18-9)
Great Northeast Athletic Conference -- Albertus Magnus (26-2)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference -- Rose-Hulman (22-5)
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- Central (Iowa) (20-7)
Landmark Conference -- Scranton (24-3)
Liberty League -- Hobart (21-6)
Little East Conference -- Rhode Island College (20-8)
Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference -- Bridgewater State (16-11)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association -- Calvin (22-5)
Midwest Conference -- St. Norbert (24-1)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- St. Olaf (22-5)
New England Collegiate Conference -- Mitchell (19-7)
New England Small College Athletic Conference -- Amherst (24-3)
New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference -- MIT (20-8)
New Jersey Athletic Conference Richard -- Stockton (23-4)
North Atlantic Conference -- Husson (26-2)
North Coast Athletic Conference -- Wooster (25-3)
North Eastern Athletic Conference -- Morrisville State (19-8)
Northern Athletics Conference -- Marian (Wis.) (22-6)
Northwest Conference -- Whitworth (22-5)
Ohio Athletic Conference -- Wilmington (Ohio) (19-8)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference -- Virginia Wesleyan (22-6)
Presidents’ Athletic Conference -- Saint Vincent (22-6)
Skyline Conference -- Purchase (25-2)
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- Webster (20-7)
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- Chapman (18-9)
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference -- Trinity (Texas) (19-9)
State University of New York Athletic Conference -- Brockport (24-3)
University Athletic Association -- Washington (Mo.) (23-2)
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference -- Northwestern-St. Paul (16-11)
USA South Athletic Conference -- LaGrange (18-10)
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- Wisconsin-Stevens Point (26-1)

Pool B
Centre (23-4)

Pool C
Augustana (Ill.) (19-7)
Babson (20-6)
Bowdoin (19-5)
Dickinson (21-6)
Eastern Connecticut State (22-6) 
Emory (17-8)
Hope (20-7)
Illinois Wesleyan (23-4)
Ohio Wesleyan (20-7)
Plattsburgh St. (22-5)
Randolph-Macon (20-6)
Springfield (20-7)
St. Thomas (MN) (22-5)
Geneseo State (21-6)
Wesley (22-3)
Williams (23-4)
Wisconsin-Whitewater (23-4)
Wittenberg (21-7) 
WPI (22-4)

Colleges with most players in the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame

UCLA leads all schools with seven basketball players in the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

2024 March Madness: Men's NCAA tournament schedule, dates

Here is the schedule for March Madness 2024, which begins with Selection Sunday on March 17.

College basketball's 9 winningest teams

Here are the top nine college basketball programs in terms of all-time wins.