basketball-men-d1 flag | March 20, 2014

NIT field announced

St. John's is making its 30th appearance in the NIT.

Printable Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS -- Florida State, Minnesota, St. John’s and SMU highlight the 32-team National Invitation Tournament field that was released Sunday. The field features 23 teams with at least 20 wins, 13 automatic qualifiers and representation from 21 of the 32 Division I conferences.

First-round play is scheduled for Tuesday and Wednesday with the second round running Thursday-Monday. Quarterfinals will be held on March 25 and 26 and four teams will advance to New York City for the semifinals on April 1. The NIT will conclude with the championship game on April 3. The semifinal and championship games will be played at New York’s historic Madison Square Garden for the 77th year.

First-round action, on campus sites, features No. 1 seeds Florida State, Minnesota, SMU and St. John’s hosting Florida Gulf Coast, High Point, UC Irvine and Robert Morris, respectively.

Other first-round games include Utah Valley at California, Davidson at Missouri, Vermont at Georgia, Illinois at Boston U., Indiana State at Arkansas, Toledo at Southern Mississippi, Georgia State at Clemson, Iona at Louisiana Tech, LSU at San Francisco, Utah at St. Mary’s (Calif.), West Virginia at Georgetown and Belmont at Green Bay.

St. John’s is making a record 30th appearance in the National Invitation Tournament while a total of six teams in the 2014 field appeared in the NIT in 2013. In all, the 2013 field features seven teams that played in the NIT in 2012.

“This may have been the most challenging selection process we’ve had since I joined this committee in 2006,” said Carroll Williams, acting chair of the NIT Selection Committee. “In addition to the 13 institutions which automatically qualified for the NIT and the 19 that we selected with the at-large spots available, there were many others that were worthy of strong consideration into our field.

“We are excited about the field we have and are looking forward to an outstanding tournament beginning Tuesday.”

NIT games are being televised by ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU and ESPN3.

First Appearance

Last App.
ClemsonAtlantic Coast20-121515142007
Florida StateAtlantic Coast19-1391082013
GeorgetownBig East17-141214122009
IllinoisBig Ten19-145742010
Indiana StateMissouri Valley23-104132013
MinnesotaBig Ten20-131528132012
San FranciscoWest Coast21-116642005
Southern MississippiConference USA27-610882013
St. John’sBig East20-123046272013
St. Mary’s (Calif.)West Coast22-113222011
West VirginiaBig 1217-151621152007

NIT Information

The 9 winningest college baseball teams in NCAA history

It's safe to say that the winningest school in college baseball history won't be caught for a long, long time (if ever).

Oklahoma vs. Florida State: 2021 WCWS championship preview

No. 1 Oklahoma will face off against No. 10 Florida State in the 2021 WCWS championship series. Here is a full breakdown of the matchup.

2021 NCAA baseball tournament preview: Oxford Regional

Preview of the Oxford Regional for the 2021 NCAA baseball tournament. This regional features Ole Miss, Southern Miss, Florida State and Southeast Missouri State.
Presented by
Presented by
Presented by

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners