basketball-men-d1 flag | February 17, 2015

NCB Hall of Fame

KANSAS CITY -- Kansas State’s Rolando Blackman, Quinn Buckner of Indiana, Ohio State’s John Havlicek, Long Beach State’s Ed Ratleff and Charlie Scott of North Carolina headline the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame induction class of 2015.

Joining them for the 10th enshrinement ceremony are legendary coaches Don Donoher of Dayton, C. Felton “Zip” Gayles of Langston and Lou Henson, who coached at Hardin Simmons, New Mexico State and Illinois.

The Class of 2015 will be inducted into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame on Nov. 20 at the Arvest Bank Theatre at the Midland in Kansas City.

The Hall of Fame is located in the College Basketball Experience (CBE), a world-class entertainment facility adjacent to Sprint Center in Kansas City. The CBE Hall of Fame Classic will take place Nov. 23-24 at Sprint Center. The four teams participating are Kansas State, Missouri, North Carolina and Northwestern.

Blackman was the Big-8 player of the year at Kansas State, a three-time all-conference selection and named to the all-time All-Big-8 first team in 1996. He played 13 seasons in the NBA with the Dallas Mavericks and New York Knicks.

A three-year captain at Indiana for Bob Knight, Buckner was a key member of IU’s 1975-76 NCAA championship team, which is the last team to go unbeaten. He is one of only three players to win a title at the high school, college, NBA and Olympic level, joining Jerry Lucas and Magic Johnson.

Havlicek, a two-time All-American at Ohio State, helped the Buckeyes win the NCAA title in 1960. He went on to play his entire 16-year professional career with the Boston Celtics, winning eight NBA championships, was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 1984 and was named as one of the NBA’s 50 greatest players.

Ratleff was a two-time All-American in 1972 and 1973 for coach Jerry Tarkanian at Long Beach State. He was a member of coach Henry Iba’s 1972 U.S. Olympic team that played in the controversial Olympic final against the Soviet Union and refused to accept the silver medals.

A two-time All-American and the Atlantic Coast Conference athlete of the year in 1970 playing for coach Dean Smith at North Carolina, Scott was the first African-American scholarship athlete for the Tar Heels. After helping UNC to the Final Four in 1968 and 1969, Scott played in the ABA and NBA, winning a championship with the Boston Celtics in 1976.

The three coaches being inducted -- Donoher, Gayles and Henson -- combined for more than 1,800 wins in their careers. Donoher spent his entire 25-year career coaching at Dayton, his alma mater, where he had a 437-275 record. He led the Flyers to eight NCAA tournament appearances, including the national championship game in 1967, where they lost to John Wooden’s UCLA Bruins.

Gayles joined Langston University in 1930 as a social science instructor, athletic director and head coach of football, basketball and baseball. From 1944-46, his basketball teams, led by long-time Harlem Globetrotters star Marques Haynes, won 51 consecutive games, had an overall record of 571-281 and won two National Negro championships. Gayles, who died in 1985, was often referred to as “a maker of champions and a molder of coaches.”

After beginning his career as a head coach at Hardin-Simmons, Henson moved on to have two successful stints at New Mexico State sandwiched around 21 years at Illinois. With almost 800 career victories, Henson guided New Mexico State to the Final Four in 1970 and took the Fighting Illini to the Final Four in 1989.

“Recognizing the coaching legends in this Class of 2015, Don Donoher and Lou Henson took their teams to the NCAA Final Four while Zip Gayles was a trailblazer and role model for athletes and coaches,” said Reggie Minton, deputy executive director of the National Association of Basketball Coaches and chair of the Hall of Fame selection panel. “The men selected as players include some great all-around athletes who helped lead their teams to championships in the NCAA, Olympic Games and the NBA.”

In 2006, the first class inducted into the newly formed National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame. That class included the game’s inventor, James Naismith, and possibly its greatest coach in John Wooden. Since that time, eight more classes have been inducted and have included the likes of Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Danny Manning, Larry Bird, Earvin “Magic” Johnson and Shaquille O’Neal.

The top 10 true freshmen in the 2023-24 men's college basketball season, according to Andy Katz

Here are the top 10 true freshmen to watch for the upcoming men's college basketball season.

The winningest DI men's college basketball programs from every state

These are the winningest Division I men's college basketball program in every state, ranked by total number of wins and winning percentage.

What March Madness looked like the year you were born

Here's wishing you a very vintage March Madness and may all your dreams of a perfect bracket come true. Here's what March Madness looked like the year you were born.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners