basketball-men-d1 flag | March 5, 2015

CBS Sports, Turner Sports announce DI Men’s Basketball Championship commentator team

• Grant Hill, Bill Raftery join Jim Nantz, Tracy Wolfson to call Final Four and national championship
• Chris Webber, Steve Lappas and Steve Smith added as game analysts
• Mateen Cleaves joins March Madness studio team

Announcer pairings
Play-by-Play Analyst Reporter
Jim Nantz Bill Raftery
Grant Hill
Tracy Wolfson *
Marv Albert Chris Webber
Len Elmore
Craig Sager *
Verne Lundquist Jim Spanarkel Allie LaForce *
Kevin Harlan Reggie Miller
Dan Bonner
Rachel Nichols *
Ian Eagle Doug Gottlieb Evan Washburn
Brian Anderson Steve Smith Lewis Johnson
Spero Dedes Mike Gminski Jaime Maggio
Andrew Catalon Steve Lappas Jamie Erdahl
* -- Regional weekend announce teams

Turner Sports and CBS Sports will feature a collection of marquee commentators for its fifth consecutive year of combined coverage of the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship. CBS Sports and Turner Sports once again will provide live, full national coverage of all 67 tournament games across four networks -- TBS, CBS, TNT and truTV -- as well as NCAA March Madness Live, beginning Tuesday, March 17, with the NCAA First Four on truTV presented by Northwestern Mutual.

This year’s NCAA Final Four national semifinals from Indianapolis will be televised Saturday, April 4, on TBS with team-specific “TeamCast” coverage available via TNT and truTV. The national championship will air Monday, April 6, on CBS.

The networks’ commentator lineup includes several new roles for this year’s coverage:

Bill Raftery and Grant Hill will provide game analysis with play-by-play commentator Jim Nantz and reporter Tracy Wolfson throughout the NCAA tournament, including their first time calling the NCAA Final Four national semifinals and national championship on television.

Chris Webber, Steve Lappas and Steve Smith will contribute to the networks’ tournament coverage as game analysts for the first time this year. Webber will join play-by-play commentator Marv Albert, analyst Len Elmore and reporter Craig Sager during the first two weeks of the tournament. Lappas will team with Andrew Catalon and reporter Jamie Erdahl, while Smith will pair with play-by-play commentator Brian Anderson and reporter Lewis Johnson throughout the first week of the tournament.

Mateen Cleaves will be a studio analyst, joined by host Matt Winer and analyst Seth Davis from Turner Studios in Atlanta.

Ernie Johnson will once again host studio coverage from the Final Four and national championship with analysts Charles Barkley, Clark Kellogg and Kenny Smith. They will be joined by Greg Gumbel with analysts Reggie Miller, Seth Davis, Steve Smith and college coaches.

Gumbel and Johnson will host studio coverage from the CBS Broadcast Center in New York during the first full week of the tournament, with Johnson hosting studio coverage from Atlanta during the second week of tournament action. Steve Smith will also join the studio team in Atlanta following the opening week while Doug Gottlieb joins studio coverage from New York.

The tournament will tip off Tuesday, March 17, and Wednesday, March 18, with the NCAA First Four on truTV presented by Northwestern Mutual. Brian Anderson will call Tuesday’s games with analyst Steve Smith and reporter Lewis Johnson. Ian Eagle will handle play-by-play on Wednesday alongside analyst Gottlieb and reporter Evan Washburn. Studio coverage for the First Four will originate from Atlanta with Winer and analysts Davis, Cleaves and Wally Szczerbiak.

Accompanying the live television presentation, NCAA March Madness Live will once again be the ultimate digital destination for direct access to all 67 games of the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship. 

ACC announces 2021-22 men’s basketball conference schedule

The Atlantic Coast Conference announced their 2021 conference schedule that will begin Dec. 3.

25 best players returning for the 2021-2022 college basketball season

The DI men's college basketball season is rapidly approaching and Andy Katz is here with his top 25 returning players for the 2021-2022 college basketball season.

After a year hiatus, the Ivy League is excited and hopeful to get back to basketball

After the Ivy League canceled its 2020-2021 college basketball season, coaches and players are eager to get back on the court and battle for an Ivy League championship.
Presented by
Presented by
Presented by

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners