basketball-men-d1 flag | March 20, 2015

First four out headline NIT field

INDIANAPOLIS -- Colorado State, Old Dominion, Richmond and Temple highlight the 32-team National Invitation Tournament field that was released on Sunday. The field features 23 teams with at least 20 wins, 12 automatic qualifiers and representation from 22 of the 32 Division I conferences.

First round play is scheduled for Tuesday, March 17 and Wednesday, March 18, with the second round running March 20-23. The quarterfinals will be held on March 24 and 25 and four teams will advance to New York City for the semifinals on Tuesday, March 31. The NIT will conclude with the Championship game on Thursday, April 2. The semifinal and championship games will be played at New York’s historic Madison Square Garden for the 78th year.

Bracket Schedule

First round action, on campus sites, features number one seeds Colorado State, Old Dominion, Richmond, and Temple hosting South Dakota State, Charleston Southern, St. Francis Brooklyn (making its first NIT appearance since 1963) and Bucknell, respectively.

Other first round games include George Washington at Pittsburgh, Central Michigan at Louisiana Tech, Montana at Texas A&M, Arizona State at Connecticut, Illinois at Alabama, North Carolina Central at Miami (Fla.), Vanderbilt at St. Mary’s (Calif.), Iona at Rhode Island, UC Davis at Stanford, Green Bay at Illinois State, UTEP at Murray State, and William and Mary at Tulsa.

Temple is making its 18th appearance in the National Invitation Tournament, tying Manhattan and Saint Louis for the fifth-most appearances by any school. A total of five teams in the 2015 field appeared in the NIT in 2014.

“This was a very challenging selection process for a number of reasons,” said Reggie Minton, acting chair of the NIT Selection Committee. “In addition to the 12 institutions which automatically qualified for the NIT and the 20 that we selected with the at-large spots available, there were many others that were worthy of strong consideration into our field.

“We are excited about the field we have and are looking forward to an outstanding tournament beginning Tuesday.”

All 2015 NIT games will also include two experimental rules.  Teams will compete using a 30-second shot clock instead of the current 35-second shot clock. The 31 games of the NIT will also have a four-foot restricted-area arc as opposed to the current three-foot arc.

NIT games are being televised by ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU and ESPN3. Additional NIT information can also be found at

Big Sky Montana 20-12 4 0-3 1995
Big South Charleston Southern 19-11 1 0-1 2013
Big West UC Davis 25-6 First
Colonial William & Mary 20-12 3 0-2 2010
Conference USA Louisiana Tech 25-8 9 10-8 2014
Metro Atlantic Iona 26-8 6 1-5 2014
Mid-American Central Michigan 23-8 2 0-1 1979
MEAC N.C. Central 25-7 First
Northeast St. Francis Brooklyn 23-11 4 3-4 1963
Ohio Valley Murray State 27-5 8 2-7 2011
Patriot Bucknell 19-14 2 1-1 2012
Summit South Dakota State 23-10 First

Alabama Southeastern 18-14 13 23-15 2013
Arizona State Pac-12 17-15 13 6-12 2013
Colorado State Mountain West 27-6 8 6-7 2011
George Washington Atlantic 10 21-12 5 0-4 2004
Green Bay Horizon 24-8 4 1-3 2014
Illinois Big Ten 19-13 6 8-5 2014
Illinois State Missouri Valley 21-12 13 9-12 2012
Miami (Fla.) Atlantic Coast 21-12 12 7-11 2012
Old Dominion Conference USA 24-7 11 8-10 2006
Pittsburgh Atlantic Coast 19-14 9 6-8 2001
Rhode Island Atlantic 10 22-9 15 13-15 2010
Richmond Atlantic 10 19-13 8 6-7 2003
St. Mary’s (Calif.) West Coast 21-9 4 3-3 2014
Stanford Pac-12 19-13 8 13-5 2013
Temple American Athletic 23-10 18 20-15 2006
Texas A&M Southeastern 20-11 7 6-6 2005
Tulsa American Athletic 22-10 11 11-8 2010
UConn American Athletic 20-14 13 15-11 2010
UTEP Conference USA 22-10 11 6-10 2011
Vanderbilt Southeastern 19-13 12 18-10 2006

Las Vegas, Indianapolis to host 2023 and 2024 NIT championships

The National Invitation Tournament has selected Las Vegas to host the 2023 NIT semifinals and championship and Indianapolis to host the 2024 event. The two host cities were selected after a nation-wide bid process in the spring.

2022 Maui Invitational: Bracket, schedule, teams

The 2022 Maui Invitational is set for Monday, Nov. 21 through Wednesday, Nov. 23 in Hawaii. Check out the bracket and schedule here.

Bill Russell: College basketball stats, best moments, quotes

Here's everything you need to know about Bill Russell's career at San Francisco.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners