basketball-men-d1 flag

CHRIS VIVLAMORE | Atlanta Journal-Constitution | September 10, 2015

Mutombo to be presented for enshrinement by Stern, Thompson

Former Georgetown Hoya Dikembe Mutombo will be enshrined this week in the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

Dikembe Mutombo will be presented for enshrinement in the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame by David Stern and John Thompson at the ceremony on Friday in Springfield, Mass.

Members of the incoming class were asked to select a previous inductee to present them to their peers. Stern, the former NBA Commissioner, is a member of the Class of 2014. Thompson, the former Georgetown coach, is a member of the Class of 1999.

The Hall of Fame released the list of presenters on Tuesday.

Mutombo played four-plus seasons with the Hawks as part of an 18-year career. The franchise announced last week that it will retire his No. 55 in a ceremony in November.

The enshrinement ceremony will be televised by NBA TV Friday at 7:30 p.m. without commercial interruption.

Here is the rest of the Class of 2015 inductees and their presenters:

Dick Bavetta: Charles Barkley ('06), Bob Lanier ('92) & Don Nelson ('12)

John Calipari: Larry Brown ('02), Julius Erving ('93) & Pat Riley ('08)

Louis Dampier: Dan Issel ('93)

Lindsay Gaze: Larry Brown ('02), Hank Nichols ('12) & Lute Olson ('02)

Spencer Haywood: Charles Barkley ('06), Bill Walton ('93) & Lenny Wilkens ('89, '98, '00)

Tom Heinsohn: Tom "Satch" Sanders ('11)

John Isaacs: Nate Archibald ('91)

Lisa Leslie: Cynthia Cooper-Dyke ('10), Teresa Edwards ('11), Katrina McClain ('12), Dawn Staley ('13), Tara VanDerveer ('11), Lynette Woodard ('04) & James Worthy ('03)

George Raveling: Phil Knight ('12), John Thompson ('99) & Lenny Wilkens ('89, '98, '00)

Jo Jo White: Dave Cowens ('91) & John Havlicek ('84) ___

This article was written by CHRIS VIVLAMORE from The Atlanta Journal-Constitution and was legally licensed through the NewsCred publisher network.


Patrick Ewing: College basketball stats, best moments, quotes

Here are the essential facts to know about Patrick Ewing's time at Georgetown.

Men's basketball scores: The good, the bad and the ugly from this weekend in college basketball

So how was your weekend? In college basketball, they came in all flavors — good, bad and ugly. But with February near, many of them set a tone for the future.

Men's college basketball stats: We found the best 3-point shooters who take the fewest 2s

Introducing the THRILL score, or Three-Point Hunting Rating Involving Lots of Launches, we broke down the top 3-point shooters who take the fewest attempts from inside the line.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners