basketball-men-d3 flag | February 29, 2016

Division III men's basketball committee announces championship field

Men's Basketball: 2016 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS --The NCAA Division III Men’s Basketball Committee announced today the field of 62 teams for the 2016 NCAA Division III Men’s Basketball Championship.

Forty-three conferences have been granted automatic qualification for the 2016 championship, while 19 other at-large teams from the remaining independent teams and automatic-qualifying conferences who did not receive their conference automatic qualification (Pool C) were selected by using specific selection criteria approved by the Division III Championships Committee.

BRACKETS: Interactive

Two first-round games will be conducted Thursday, March 3 with the winners advancing to play Saturday, March 5 against teams that received first-round byes. Fourteen sites will host four teams for first and second-round competition Friday-Saturday, March 4-5. Second-round winners will advance to one of four sectional-round sites March 11-12. Winners of the four sectional games will advance to the semi-finals and finals March 18 and 19. All games, except the semi-finals and finals, will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. The semi-finals and finals will be conducted at the Salem Civic Center in Salem, Virginia.

Conference Automatic Qualifier
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Pittsburg-Greensburg (19-9)
American Southwest Conference Hardin-Simmons (18-10)
Capital Athletic Conference Christopher Newport (26-1)
Centennial Conference Franklin & Marshall (22-5)
City University of New York Athletic Conference College Brooklyn (22-6)
Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Augustana (Illinois) (26-1)
Colonial States Athletic Conference Gwynedd Mercy (21-5)
Commonwealth Coast Conference Endicott (18-10)

Empire 8 Hartwick (19-8)
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Johnson & Wales (Rhode Island) (26-2)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Mount St. Joseph (18-9)

Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Central (Iowa) (19-9)

Landmark Conference Catholic (22-5)
Liberty League Skidmore (18-8)

Little East Conference Keene State (18-10)

Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference Fitchburg State (18-9)

Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Alma (21-6)

Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Lycoming (19-9)

Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Delaware Valley (20-7)

Midwest Conference St. Norbert (23-2)

Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference St. Olaf (17-9)

New England Collegiate Conference Southern Vermont (24-3)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Middlebury (17-10)

New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference Babson (21-5)

New Jersey Athletic Conference
North Atlantic Conference Stockton (21-6)

North Atlantic Conference Husson (21-6)

North Coast Athletic Conference Denison (17-11)

North Eastern Athletic Conference Lancaster Bible (27-0)
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Benedictine (Illinois) (27-0)
Northwest Conference Whitworth (26-1)

Ohio Athletic Conference John Carroll (25-3)

Old Dominion Athletic Conference Lynchburg (22-6)

Presidents’ Athletic Conference Saint Vincent (22-6)

Skyline Conference Old Westbury (19-8)
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Westminster (Missouri) (12-15)
Southern Athletic Association Birmingham-Southern (22-6)
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Chapman (20-6)

Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Texas Lutheran (21-6)

State University of New York Athletic Conference SUNY Cortland (20-7)

University Athletic Association Emory (18-7)
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference Northwestnern-St. Paul (22-5)
USA South Athletic Conference Covenant (18-9)
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wisconsin-Oshkosh (18-9)



















College basketball awards: 20 point guards named to 2020 Bob Cousy Award preseason watch list

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced the 20 preseason candidates for the 2020 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award.

Duke expects more balance in post-Zion Williamson era

Yes, the Blue Devils will be among the favorites to advance to the Final Four in Atlanta and cut down the nets as national champions. But there's a noticeable void as Duke prepares for its 40th season under head coach Mike Krzyzewski. It's the post-Zion era in Durham.

9 'glue guys' that will be key leaders in the 2019-20 men's basketball season

Andy Katz labels nine dependable leaders, or 'glue guys,' for the 2019-20 season that will keep their teams closely knit and prepared for a possible March Madness run.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners