basketball-men-d1 flag

David Warlock | | September 22, 2016

Paul Krebs appointed to Division I Men’s Basketball Committee

University of New Mexico Vice President for Athletics Paul Krebs has been appointed to the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee, effective immediately.

Krebs fills the vacancy created when Jim Sterk, who was set to begin his term on the committee earlier this month, left his position as director of athletics at San Diego State University. Sterk left the school to take a similar position at the University of Missouri in August.

  Paul Krebs will begin on the committee immediately.
Krebs is the second representative from New Mexico to serve on the committee, joining former director of athletics Rudy Davalos, a member during the 1995-99 championships.

Krebs is a 1978 graduate of Bowling Green State University, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in business. Soon after receiving a master’s degree in athletics administration from The Ohio State University in 1981, Krebs began his professional career as the assistant ticket director at the University of Oklahoma. He returned to Ohio State in 1986, where he worked for 13 years and rose to associate athletics director. Krebs was named director of athletics at Bowling Green in 1999 and remained in that role until leaving for New Mexico in 2006.

Under Krebs’ direction, New Mexico has consistently ranked among the best Division I athletics departments in the Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup standings. The program has also reached new heights in the academic performance of its student-athletes as well as fundraising, revenue generation and facility upgrades. The men’s basketball program has averaged 24 wins per season in the last six years, playing in four NCAA tournaments and twice earning a No. 3 seed during that time.

Krebs, who hired three-time Mountain West Conference Coach of the Year Steve Alford as well as current New Mexico men’s basketball coach Craig Neal, currently serves on the NCAA’s competition oversight committee and is the Mountain West’s representative on the NCAA Council. He served as tournament director for the second and third rounds of the 2012 tournament’s site in Albuquerque, New Mexico, and he is also a former member of the Division I Baseball Committee.

“It is an incredible honor to be appointed to represent my school and the Mountain West Conference as a member of the men’s basketball committee,” Krebs said. “To have the opportunity to provide management to one of the truly special sporting events the world has to offer, while working with great professionals on the committee and from the national office, is a task I’m privileged to have. I am humbled to receive this opportunity and I’m anxious to get started.”

The committee will be chaired in 2016-17 by Michigan State University Director of Athletics Mark Hollis. Krebs will also serve on the committee with vice chair Bruce Rasmussen, the director of athletics at Creighton University; Mitch Barnhart, the director of athletics at the University of Kentucky; Janet Cone, the director of athletics at the University of North Carolina Asheville; Tom Holmoe, the director of athletics at Brigham Young University; Bernard Muir, the director of athletics at Stanford University; Peter Roby, the director of athletics at Northeastern University; Jim Schaus, the director of athletics at Ohio University; and Kevin White, the director of athletics at Duke University.

10 best historic March Madness arenas, ranked

Andy Katz ranks his top 10 NCAA tournament dream arenas he would love to see host March Madness games.

2021 Mountain West baseball preview: Everyone’s chasing San Diego State

San Diego State once again is the league favorite, while New Mexico, Fresno State and UNLV are teams capable of making big moves in the Mountain West.
Presented by
Presented by
Presented by

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners