basketball-men-d1 flag

Anthony Chiusano | | February 3, 2017

Hall of Fame award watch lists down to 10 finalists

  UCLA point guard Lonzo Ball is one of 10 finalists for the Bob Cousy Award.

Each year the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame presents the top players at each position with an award named after a past NCAA legend. What started as 20-man preseason watch lists are now down to 10 finalists for each position, with just two months left in the season.

The watch lists will be further narrowed to five players at each position in March, followed by the announcement of each winner in April. Below are the updated watch lists, which were released throughout the week:

Bob Cousy Award

The award for the top point guard in the nation gets its name from a Holy Cross standout and six-time NBA champion as a member of the Boston Celtics. Cousy played at Holy Cross from 1947-50 and led the Crusaders to an NCAA title in his final season.

The 10 finalists for the 2016-17 award are:

Player School
Nigel Williams-Goss Gonzaga
Monte Morris Iowa State
Frank Mason III Kansas
De'Aaron Fox Kentucky
Melo Trimble Maryland
Joel Berry II North Carolina
Dennis Smith Jr. North Carolina State
Lonzo Ball UCLA
Jalen Brunson Villanova
Markelle Fultz Washington

Jerry West Award

The man behind the NBA logo silhouette, Jerry West was a two-time AP All-American at West Virginia and scored nearly 25 points per game for the Mountaineers from 1957-60 as an elite shooting guard.

It's a stacked list of finalists at the two-guard spot this season. Here are the 10 finalists:

Player School
Jacob Evans Cincinnati
Marcus Foster Creighton
Luke Kennard Duke
Jordan Mathews Gonzaga
James Blackmon Jr. Indiana
Peter Jok Iowa
Devonte' Graham Kansas
Malik Monk Kentucky
Steve Vasturia Notre Dame
Bryce Alford UCLA

Julius Erving Award

Erving averaged more than 20 points and 20 rebounds in his career in Amherst for the Massachusetts Minutemen from 1968-71. Known for his graceful dunks and iconic hair, Erving was a scoring machine at every level β€” NCAA, ABA, NBA β€” and was a four-time MVP.

A mixture of thriving underclassmen and experienced seniors top this year's list of finalists. Here are the top 10 small forwards:

Player School
Evan Bradds Belmont
Kelan Martin Butler
Jaron Blossomgame Clemson
Jayson Tatum Duke
Dwayne Bacon Florida State
Josh Jackson Kansas
Justin Jackson North Carolina
Dillon Brooks Oregon
Josh Hart Villanova
Trevon Bluiett Xavier

Karl Malone Award

The best power forward in the nation will take home the Malone Award, named after the Louisiana Tech star (1982-85) who led the Bulldogs to their first NCAA tournament appearance in 1985 -- a Sweet 16 run. 

Malone averaged 18.7 points and 9.3 rebounds per game over three seasons before taking his talents to the NBA where he built a Hall of Fame career in Utah and Los Angeles.

Here are the 10 finalists:

Player School
Lauri Markkanen Arizona
Johnathan Motley Baylor
Ivan Rabb California
Dedric Lawson Memphis
Miles Bridges Michigan State
Bonzie Colson Notre Dame
Michael Young Pittsburgh
Caleb Swanigan Purdue
Alec Peters Valparaiso

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award

Basketball may be trending more toward small ball, but that won't stop this year's elite group of centers from dominating down low.

Abdul-Jabbar astoundingly won three NCAA championships under John Wooden's 1960s UCLA dynasty. Add in his six NBA championship rings, and Abdul-Jabbar is one of the most decorated and dominant big men at both the college and professional level.

Here are the 10 finalists for the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award:

Player School
Eric Mika BYU
Justin Patton Creighton
Yante Maten  Georgia
Przemek Karnowski Gonzaga
Tim Kempton Lehigh
Jock Landale Saint Mary's
Tacko Fall UCF
Thomas Welsh UCLA
Josh Hawkinson Washington State
Ethan Happ Wisconsin

UCLA leads the way with four players represented among the five watch lists. Gonzaga and Kansas each add three of their own to the updated editions.

Records for every seed in March Madness from 1985 to 2022

These are the all-time, round-by-round records for every seed in the March Madness men's tournament from 1985 (when the field expanded) to 2022.

What is March Madness: The NCAA tournament explained

Here is everything (really!) you might want to know about March Madness β€” one of the biggest, most exciting and fun events in sports.

No. 9 Kansas men's basketball takes down No. 5 Texas in top-10 showdown

The No. 9 Jayhawks rolled to victory against Big 12 rival No. 5 Texas to rebound after losing to Iowa State.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners