basketball-men-d3 flag | February 27, 2017

Division III men's basketball field announced

DIII Men's Basketball: 2017 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Men’s Basketball Committee announced today the field of 64 teams for the 2017 NCAA Division III Men’s Basketball Championship.

Interactive Bracket | Printable Bracket 

Forty-three conferences have been granted automatic qualification for the 2017 championship, while 21 other at-large teams from the remaining independent teams and automatic-qualifying conferences who did not receive their conference automatic qualification (Pool C) were selected by using specific selection criteria approved by the Division III Championships Committee.

Sixteen sites will host four teams for first and second-round competition Friday-Saturday, March 3-4. Second-round winners will advance to one of four sectional-round sites March 10-11. Winners of the four sectional games will advance to the semi-finals and finals March 17 and 18. All games, except the semi-finals and finals, will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. The semi-finals and finals will be conducted at the Salem Civic Center in Salem, Va.

Conferences receiving automatic qualification are as follows:

Conference Automatic Qualifier Team
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Medaille (21-6)
American Southwest Conference Hardin-Simmons (22-6)
Capital Athletic Conference Christopher Newport (25-2)
Centennial Conference Swarthmore (22-5)
City University of New York Athletic Conference Staten Island (21-6)
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin North Central (Illinois) (17-10)
Colonial States Athletic Conference Neumann (25-2)
Commonwealth Coast Conference Nichols (23-5)
Empire 8 St. John Fisher (22-5)
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Albertus Magnus (23-4)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Hanover (23-3)
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wartburg (19-9)
Landmark Conference Scranton (21-6)
Liberty League Union (New York) (16-10)
Little East Conference Eastern Connecticut State (20-8)
Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference Salem State (17-10)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Calvin (17-10)
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Lycoming (23-4)
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Misericordia (20-7)
Midwest Conference Ripon (20-5)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Bethel (Minnesota) (21-6)
New England Collegiate Conference Becker (19-8)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Middlebury (24-3)
New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference MIT (21-6)
New Jersey Athletic Conference Ramapo (25-2)
North Atlantic Conference Husson (21-6)
North Coast Athletic Conference Wooster (21-7)
North Eastern Athletic Conference Morrisville State (22-6)
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Benedictine (Illinois) (23-4)
Northwest Conference Whitman (27-0)
Ohio Athletic Conference Marietta (24-4)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Guilford (23-5)
Presidents’ Athletic Conference Thomas More (22-6)
Skyline Conference Farmingdale State (20-7)
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Westminster (Missouri) (19-8)
Southern Athletic Association Rhodes (17-10)
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (22-4)
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Texas Lutheran (19-9)
State University of New York Athletic Conference Oswego State (21-6)
University Athletic Association Washington U. in St. Louis (20-5)
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference Northwestern-St. Paul (20-7)
USA South Athletic Conference LaGrange (18-10)
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wisconsin-River Falls (24-3)
Pool C
Amherst (17-7)
Salisbury (20-7)
Augustana (Illinois) (19-8)
Skidmore (19-7)
Babson (25-2)
St. Lawrence (20-6)
Cabrini (19-7)
St. Thomas (Minnesota) (19-7)
Emory (18-7)
Susquehanna (21-5)
Endicott (22-6)
Tufts (20-6)
Hope (21-6)
Wesleyan (Connecticut) (19-6)
Keene State (19-9)
Whitworth (23-4)
Mount St. Joseph (20-7)
Williams (19-8)
New Jersey City (21-7)
Wisconsin-Oshkosh (17-10)
Rochestesr (New York) (21-4)
Wisconsin-Whitewater (21-6)

Four regional sites selected to host second year of NCAA College Basketball Academies

Academy participants will play in scrimmages and go through drills being conducted by past and present coaches from across all three divisions of the NCAA as well as high school coaches. Coaches, as well as a commissioner for each site, will be determined later. All the prospective student-athletes and their parents or guardians will also be instructed on life skills designed to prepare them for the recruiting process, academic eligibility and life on campus.

5 predictions for the 2019-20 WCC men's basketball season

Andy Katz gives his five predictions for the 2019-20 WCC men's basketball season, including Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year and the top non-conference games to watch.

NCAA Digital reaches multi-year agreement with veteran college basketball reporter Andy Katz

Katz will provide year-round analysis through, social media & March Madness 365 podcast.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners