basketball-men-d1 flag

Wayne Cavadi | | March 10, 2017

Hall of Fame awards finalists announced

  Frank Mason III hopes to add to his 2017 accolades as a finalist for the Bob Cousy Award.

As the NCAA tournament draws closer, so does awards season.

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame presents awards to the best player at each position. The finalists for each award -- named after a legendary collegiate player at their respective position -- were announced this week. The national committee has narrowed down their February field of 10 to the five top candidates at each position.

Bob Cousy Award finalists

The award for best point guard is named after the Holy Cross standout, where he played from 1947 to 1950. He went on to have a Hall of Fame career with the Boston Celtics, winning six championships.

Kentucky's Tyler Ulis was last year's winner.

Player School
Nigel Williams-Goss Gonzaga
Frank Mason III Kansas
Joel Berry II North Carolina
Lonzo Ball UCLA
Jalen Brunson Villanova

Jerry West Award finalists

"The Logo" capped off an All-American career at West Virginia (1957-60) with a career as one of the NBA's finest shooting guards of all-time.

Buddy Hield of Oklahoma took home the 2016 honors.

Player  School
Marcus Foster Creighton
Luke Kennard Duke
Peter Jok Iowa
Malik Monk Kentucky
Bryce Alford UCLA

Julius Erving Award finalists

Known as one of the greatest dunkers of all-time, Dr. J was a standout small forward for UMass from 1968 to 1971. He went on to an iconic career in both the ABA and NBA, retiring as a four-time MVP.

2016's winner was Michigan State's Denzel Valentine.

Player School
Jayson Tatum .           Duke
Josh Jackson Kansas
Justin Jackson North Carolina
Dillon Brooks Oregon
Josh Hart Villanova

Karl Malone Award finalists

One of the greatest power forwards in the history of the game, Malone led Louisiana Tech to their first NCAA tournament ever. He averaged 18.7 points and 9.3 rebounds per game from 1982 to 1985 before becoming the eighth-best rebounder in NBA history. A member of both the Jazz and Lakers, Malone also garnered international acclaim as a member of the Dream Team.

Taking home the award last season was Georges Niang of Iowa State. 

Player   School
Lauri Markkanen Arizona
Johnathan Motley Baylor
Bonzie Colson Notre Dame
Caleb Swanigan Purdue

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award finalists

Abdul-Jabbar rose to fame at UCLA during John Wooden's dynasty of the 1960s. He followed up his three NCAA titles by winning six more during his Hall of Fame NBA career with the Bucks and Lakers.

Last year, Jakob Poeltl of Utah won the award.

Player  School
Przemek Karnowski Gonzaga
Tim Kempton . Lehigh
Jock Landale Saint Mary's
Angel Delgado Seton Hall
Ethan Happ Wisconsin 

UCLA leads the way with with three student-athletes represented. Duke, Gonzaga, Kansas, North Carolina and Villanova are represented with two athletes a piece.

The awards will be presented on April 7, 2017 from Los Angeles.

College basketball rankings: How Power 36 shifts after key NBA draft withdrawal decisions

After the NBA draft early-entry withdrawal deadline, Andy Katz shares his Power 36 rankings for the upcoming 2021-22 college basketball season.

2020 US men's Olympic basketball team: Roster, college careers

The 12-player roster for the 2020 U.S. men's Olympic basketball team features three former Kentucky players, a pair of UCLA Bruins as well as representation from 7 other DI college basketball programs.

Bradley’s Chris Reynolds will chair Division I Men’s Basketball Committee in 2022-23

Chris Reynolds, vice president for intercollegiate athletics at Bradley, has been selected by his peers to chair the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee for the 2022-23 season.
Presented by
Presented by
Presented by

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners