basketball-men-d1 flag

Wooden Award release | February 6, 2018

Wooden Award Late Season Top 20 announced

LOS ANGELES, CA — The Los Angeles Athletic Club has announced its John R. Wooden Award presented by Wendy’s Late Season Top 20 on ESPNU. Chosen by a poll of national college basketball experts based on their performances during the first half of the 2017-18 season, the list comprises of 20 student-athletes who are currently the front-runners for the sport’s most prestigious honor and the John R. Wooden Award All America Team. 

AWARD WATCH LISTS: Bob Cousy | Jerry West

After not appearing on either the men’s Wooden Award Preseason Top 50 or the Midseason Top 25, three players make their debut on the Wooden Watch on the Late Season Top 20: Keita Bates-Diop of Ohio State, Carsen Edwards of Purdue and Keenan Evans of Texas Tech. Preseason Top 50 nominee Vincent Edwards of Purdue returns to the Wooden Watch after not appearing on the Midseason Top 25. Three schools have two players chosen on the list: Arizona (Deandre Ayton and Allonzo Trier), Purdue (Edwards and Edwards), and Villanova (Mikal Bridges and Jalen Brunson).

The Big 12 leads all conferences with five selections; followed by the Big East and Big Ten with four apiece, the Pac-12 with three; the ACC with two; and the SEC and WCC with one selection apiece.

Purdue's Vincent Edwards talks with Andy Katz
Players not appearing on this list are still eligible for the National Ballot, which will be announced in early March and will consist of 15 top players.  Prior to being listed on the National Ballot, each player must be certified by their university to meet the qualifications for the Award, including: candidates must be a full-time student making progress toward graduation and have a cumulative 2.00 grade point average since enrolling in their school; candidates must exhibit strength of character, both on and off the court; candidates should contribute to team effort; candidates must excel in both offense and defense; and candidates should be considered based on their performance over the course of the entire season. Players not listed on the National Ballot will no longer be eligible for the Wooden Award nor the John R. Wooden Award All America Team.  Voting begins at the end of the season, and voters, consisting of 1,000 members of the national college basketball media, will take into account the opening rounds of the NCAA Tournament.

About the John R. Wooden Award

The 42nd annual presentation of the John R. Wooden Award to men’s and women’s most outstanding basketball player will be the anchor presentation of the ESPN College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s on ESPN2 on Friday, April 6, 2018. The men’s and women’s John R. Wooden Award All American Teams will be honored during the ceremony, and the 2018 Wooden Award Legends of Coaching Trophy will be presented to Jay Wright, Head Men’s Basketball Coach at Villanova.

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation’s best basketball player at an NCAA Division I university who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress towards graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include Larry Bird (’79), Michael Jordan (’84), Tim Duncan (’97), Candace Parker (’07 & ’08), Maya Moore (’09 & ’11), and last year’s recipients, Kelsey Plum of Washington and Frank Mason III of Kansas.

Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed nearly one million dollars to the universities’ general scholarship fund in the names of the Wooden Award All American recipients and has sent more than 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps. Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with the Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament. The day-long tournament brings together Special Olympics athletes and Wooden Award All Americans and coaches in attendance. It is hosted at the Los Angeles Athletic Club during the John R. Wooden Award Weekend.

For up-to-date information on the Wooden Award, please go to and follow the Wooden Award on Facebook and @WoodenAward on Twitter and Instagram.

Name School Conference Class  Position
Deandre Ayton Arizona Pac-12 Fr.  Forward
Marvin Bagley III Duke ACC Fr. Forward
Mohamed Bamba Texas Big 12 Fr. Forward
Keita Bates-Diop Ohio State  Big Ten Jr.  Forward
Trevon Bluiett Xavier Big East Sr.  Guard
Mikal Bridges Villanova Big East Jr. G/F
Miles Bridges Michigan State Big Ten Soph. G/F
Jalen Brunson Villanova Big East Jr.  Guard
Jevon Carter West Virginia  Big 12 Sr.  Guard
Carsen Edwards Purdue Big Ten Soph. Guard
Vincent Edwards Purdue Big Ten Senior Forward
Keenan Evans Texas Tech Big 12 Senior Guard
Marcus Foster Creighton Big East Sr.  Guard
Devonte' Graham Kansas Bg 12  Sr.  Guard
Tra Holder Arizona State Pac-12 Sr. Guard
Jock Landale Saint Mary's WCC Sr.  Center
Luke Maye North Carolina ACC Jr.  Forward
Collin Sexton Alabama SEC Fr. Guard
Allonza Trier Arizona Pac-12 Jr. Guard
Trae Young Oklahoma Big 12 Fr. Guard


Andy Katz ranks top 10 rivalries in men's college basketball for the 2023-24 season

With fewer than six weeks remaining until college basketball tips-off, NCAA Digital's Andy Katz takes a look at the ten best rivalry matchups for the 2023-24 season.

Colleges with most players in the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame

UCLA leads all schools with seven basketball players in the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

2024 March Madness: Men's NCAA tournament schedule, dates

Here is the schedule for March Madness 2024, which begins with Selection Sunday on March 17.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners