basketball-men-d1 flag

Wooden Award release | January 9, 2019

College basketball: 2019 John Wooden Award midseason top 25 announced

Nevada's Caroline has sights set high for the Wolf Pack

On the 2019 Wooden Award Midseason Top 25 Watch List, seven players make their debut on the Wooden Watch after not being named on the Preseason Top 50: Nickeil Alexander-Walker of Virginia Tech, Ignas Brazdeikis of Michigan, Jordan Caroline of Nevada, Jarrett Culver of Texas Tech, Ja Morant of Murray State, Myles Powell of Seton Hall, and Admiral Schofield of Tennessee. Three schools have two players that were chosen: Duke (RJ Barrett and Zion Williamson), Nevada (Caroline and Caleb Martin), and Tennessee (Schofield and Grant Williams).

The Big Ten leads all conferences with seven selections; followed by the ACC with five; the Big East and SEC with three selections each; the Big 12 and Mountain West with two apiece; and the Ohio Valley, Summit League, and WCC with one selection each.

MORE: 13 college basketball predictions that were dead wrong

The players on the list are considered strong candidates for the 2019 John R. Wooden Award Men’s Player of the Year presented by Wendy’s. Players not chosen to the preseason list are still eligible for the Wooden Award™ late season list, and the National Ballot. The National Ballot consists of 15 top players who have proven to their universities that they meet or exceed the qualifications of the Wooden Award. Nearly 1,000 voters will rank in order 10 of those 15 players when voting opens prior to the NCAA tournament and will allow voters to take into consideration performance during early round games. The Wooden Award All American Team™ will be announced the week of the “Elite Eight” round of the NCAA tournament. The winner of the 2019 John R. Wooden Award will be presented by Wendy’s during the ESPN College Basketball Awards on Friday, April 12, 2019.

Here are the players on the midseason watch list.

Name School Class Position
Nickeil Alexander-Walker Virginia Tech So. G
RJ Barrett Duke Fr. F
Ignas Brazdeikis Michigan Fr. F
Jordan Caroline Nevada Sr. G/F
Jarrett Culver Texas Tech So. G
Mike Daum South Dakota State Sr. F
Carsen Edwards Purdue Jr. G
Rui Hachimura Gonzaga Jr. F
Ethan Happ Wisconsin Sr. F
Markus Howard Marquette Jr. G
De'Andre Hunter Virginia So. G
Keldon Johnson Kentucky Fr. G
Romeo Langford Indiana Fr. G
Dedric Lawson Kansas Jr. F
Caleb Martin Nevada Sr. F
Luke Maye North Carolina Sr. F
Ja Morant Murray State So. G
Jordan Murphy Minnesota Sr. F
James Palmer Jr. Nebraska Sr. G
Shamorie Ponds St. John's Jr. G
Myles Powell Seton Hall Jr. G
Admiral Schofield Tennessee Sr. G
Grant Williams Tennessee Jr. F
Zion Williamson Duke Fr. F
Cassius Winston Michigan State Jr. G

Andy Katz ranks top 10 rivalries in men's college basketball for the 2023-24 season

With fewer than six weeks remaining until college basketball tips-off, NCAA Digital's Andy Katz takes a look at the ten best rivalry matchups for the 2023-24 season.

Colleges with most players in the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame

UCLA leads all schools with seven basketball players in the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

2024 March Madness: Men's NCAA tournament schedule, dates

Here is the schedule for March Madness 2024, which begins with Selection Sunday on March 17.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners