basketball-men-d2 flag

Wayne Cavadi | | February 15, 2019

24 DII basketball players featured on Bevo Francis Award top 50

Northwest Missouri State Athletics Northwest Missouri State has a pair of players on the Bevo Francis Watchlist.

Small College Basketball released its updated watchlist for the Bevo Francis Award for the 2019 season. The first list was cut from the original 100 to 50 players from DII, DIII, NAIA, USCAA, and NCCAA men's basketball.

The award was created in 2015 and is named after Clarence "Bevo" Francis. Francis played two seasons at what is now the University of Rio Grande. In his first season, he led the team to a 39-0 record averaging 50.1 points per game, highlighted by a 116-point performance against Ashland College in Kentucky.

HISTORY: Francis highlights the best single-seasons in DII lore

Lincoln Memorial's Emanuel Terry was the winner of the 2018 award. Aside from averaging a double-double (16.9 points, 10.3 rebounds per game) for the school that finished atop the DII men's basketball regular season rankings, Terry was known for highlight-reel dunks that garnered the nation's attention.

Twenty-four DII men's basketball student-athletes comprise more than half of the list. Only Northwest Missouri State's Trevor Hudgins is a freshman.

The list will be cut two more times before the winner is announced on April 8. Here are the important dates:

  • March 15, 2019: Top 25
  • April 6, 2019: Finalists
  • April 8, 2019: The 2019 Bevo Francis Award winner announced 

The complete watchlist is below in alphabetical order.

NCAA DII TOURNAMENT WATCH: SleepersStandout freshman | Stat leaders | Undefeated teams

Name Height Class School
Buzz Anthony 5โ€™11โ€ So. Randolph-Macon
Tommy Bolte 6โ€™1โ€ Sr. Concord (WV)
Dalton Bolon 6โ€™4โ€ So. West Liberty
Ben Boots 6โ€™1โ€ Sr. Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Ryan Bruggeman 6โ€™0โ€ Sr. Southwest Minnesota State
Chris Coffey 6โ€™7โ€ Jr. Georgetown
Kendrick Colvin 6โ€™6โ€ Sr. Emmanuel (GA)
Trevion Crews 6โ€™0โ€ So. Bethel (IN)
Jack Davidson 6โ€™1โ€ So. Wabash
Gage Davis 6โ€™5โ€ Sr. St. Cloud State
Jayvian Delacruz 6โ€™5โ€ Sr. Pikeville
David Dennis 6โ€™0โ€ Sr. Nova Southeastern
Jacobo Diaz 6โ€™9โ€ Sr. Indiana (Pa)
Adam Dieball 6โ€™9โ€ Sr. Christian Brothers
Grant Dressler 6โ€™7โ€ Sr. Chaminade
Adam Eberhard 6โ€™8โ€ Sr. Bellarmine
Marcos Echevarria 5โ€™10โ€ Sr. Nichols
Aston Francis 6โ€™1โ€ Sr. Wheaton
Jeff Garrett 6โ€™7โ€ Sr. LSU-Shreveport
Ryan Garver 6โ€™3โ€ Sr. Nebraska Wesleyan
Tim Guers 6โ€™3โ€ Sr. St. Anselm
Tonzell Handy 6โ€™5โ€ Sr. Tougaloo
Juvaris Hayes 6โ€™0โ€ Jr. Merrimack
Amir Hinton 6โ€™5โ€ Jr. Shaw
Ty Hoglund 6โ€™3โ€ Jr. Dakota Wesleyan
Daulton Hommes 6โ€™8โ€ Jr. Point Loma
Trevor Hudgins 6โ€™1โ€ Fr. Northwest Missouri State
Cameron Hunt 6โ€™4โ€ Sr. Southwestern (KS)
Jamie Johnson 6โ€™0โ€ Sr. IU-Southeast
Beau Justice 6โ€™2โ€ Sr. Valdosta State
Jonathan Lawton 6โ€™2โ€ Sr. Florida Southern
Anthony Lee 6โ€™2โ€ Sr. Kutztown
Kyle Mangas 6โ€™3โ€ So. Indiana Wesleyan
Cam Martin 6โ€™9โ€ So. Missouri Southern
Justin Martin 5โ€™9โ€ Jr. Multnomah
Kendale McCullum 6โ€™1โ€ Sr. Lewis
Jordan Murdock 6โ€™5โ€ Sr. Friends (KS)
Ty Nichols 6โ€™3โ€ Sr. Keene State
Jonathan Patron 6โ€™2โ€ Sr. Plattsburgh
Connor Raridon 6โ€™6โ€ Jr. North Central
Nic Reed 6โ€™5โ€ Jr. Olivet Nazarene
Ryan Richmond 6โ€™1โ€ Sr. Bentley
Kyle Roach 6โ€™5โ€ Sr. Whitworth
Andrew Sischo 6โ€™9โ€ So. Daemen
Sam Vander Sluis 6โ€™8โ€ Sr. Cornerstone
Wes Stowers 5โ€™10โ€ Sr. Marian
Demitrius Underwood 6โ€™2โ€ Jr. Texas-Dallas
Shaun Willett 6โ€™4โ€ Sr. Queens (NC)
Joey Witthus 6โ€™7โ€ Sr.  Northwest Missouri State
Jay Wolfe 6โ€™4โ€ Sr. Briar Cliff
MORE ON DII MEN'S BASKETBALL: Programs with the most titles | Top news

Tracking the 2019-20 undefeated college basketball teams

We're tracking all the undefeated NCAA DI men's college basketball teams in the 2019-20 season.

2019-20 Duke basketball schedule: Game times, TV channels, scores

Duke basketball is expected to compete for ACC and NCAA tournament titles this season. Here's the schedule, including game times, TV channels and scores.

DII men's basketball: Central Missouri snaps Northwest Missouri State's 46-game winning streak

Central Missouri hosted No. 1 Northwest Missouri State on Saturday, Dec. 7 and pulled off the stunning upset, 72-60, snapping the Bearcats 46-game winning streak. Here's how the Mules did it.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners