basketball-men-d2 flag

Wayne Cavadi | | April 6, 2019

9 finalists announced for the 2019 Small College Basketball Bevo Francis Award

Northwest Missouri State claims the 2019 DII Men's Basketball Championship

Small College Basketball released its nine finalists for the Bevo Francis Award for the 2019 season. One of the standout players will take home the SCB player of the year honors on April 8. The award honors student-athletes from Division II, Division III, NAIA, USCAA, and NCCAA men's basketball. programs.

The award was created in 2015 and is named after Clarence "Bevo" Francis. Francis played two seasons at what is now the University of Rio Grande. In his first season, he led the team to a 39-0 record averaging 50.1 points per game, highlighted by a 116-point performance against Ashland College in Kentucky.

HISTORY: Francis highlights the best single-seasons in DII lore

Lincoln Memorial's Emanuel Terry was the winner of the 2018 award. Aside from averaging a double-double (16.9 points, 10.3 rebounds per game) for the school that finished atop the DII men's basketball regular season rankings, Terry was known for highlight-reel dunks that garnered the nation's attention.

2019 CHAMPIONSHIP RECAP: Northwest Missouri complete 5th undefeated DII season | UW-Oshkosh wins DIII

Here is the complete list of finalists:

Player School

Aston Francis


Jeff Garrett

LSU Shreveport

Tim Guers

St. Anselm

Daulton Hommes

Point Loma Nazarene

Cameron Hunt

Southwestern College

Jonathan Lawton

Florida Southern

Sam Vander Sluis


Will Vorhees

Notre Dame College

Joey Witthus

Northwest Missouri State

These schools have the most DII baseball national championships

Let's take a look at the schools with the most DII baseball national championships.

DII men's basketball programs with the most NCAA DII national championships

Here are the DII men's basketball programs that have won multiple national championships.