basketball-men-d1 flag | October 4, 2019

Katz: Michigan State will win the 2019-2020 title (and other predictions you'll want to fight me on)

Andy Katz forecasts the Sweet 16 and picks his national champion

The 2019-20 college basketball season starts Nov. 5 and it will end in Atlanta with Michigan State celebrating its first NCAA men's basketball championship since 2000. At least, that's how's Andy Katz sees the season playing out right now.

You can watch Katz's reasons why the Spartans will win the title in the video above. He also predicts the teams we'll see in the Sweet 16 and the Final Four. Here is his latest prediction of what the entire 68-team NCAA tournament field will look like in March

KATZ'S CRYSTAL BALL: 20 predictions for the 2020 NCAA tournament

Katz's Sweet 16 prediction includes four teams from the ACC, three from the Big Ten, two each from the Big 12, Big East, SEC, and WCC, and one from the Pac-12.

Here are each:


Duke (ACC)
Virginia (ACC)
North Carolina (ACC)
Louisville (ACC)
Illinois (Big Ten)
Maryland (Big Ten)
Michigan State (Big Ten)
Villanova (Big East)
Seton Hall (Big East)
Florida (SEC)
Kentucky (SEC)
Oregon (Pac-12)
Kansas (Big 12)
Texas Tech (Big 12)
Saint Mary’s (WCC)
Gonzaga (WCC)


Michigan State


Kansas vs. Michigan State


Michigan State

College basketball awards: 20 centers named to 2020 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award preseason watch list

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 20 watch list members for the 2020 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award.

7 college basketball freshmen who we aren't talking about enough

Every college basketball season there is a crop of freshmen who dominate headlines throughout the year, but what about some of the freshmen who don't get all the attention? Here are seven freshmen to keep an eye on this season.

Naismith Hall of Fame names 20 power forwards to 2020 Karl Malone Award watch list

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 20 watch list members for the 2020 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award. Named after Class of 2010 Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone, the annual honor in its sixth year recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners