basketball-men-d2 flag

Wayne Cavadi | | January 15, 2020

The Bevo Francis top 100 watchlist released by Small College Basketball

Lincoln Memorial's Anthony Brown throws down a big dunk on Catawba

Small College Basketball released its first watchlist for the Bevo Francis Award for the 2020 season. The first list features 100 players from DII, DIII, NAIA, USCAA, and NCCAA men's basketball.

The award was created in 2015 and is named after Clarence "Bevo" Francis. Francis played two seasons at what is now the University of Rio Grande. In his first season, he led the team to a 39-0 record averaging 50.1 points per game, highlighted by a 116-point performance against Ashland College in Kentucky.

HISTORY: Francis highlights the best single-seasons in DII lore

Aston Francis of DIII men's basketball Wheaton was the winner in 2019. Lincoln Memorial's Emanuel Terry was the last winner from DII men's basketball to bring home the award, winning in 2018, averaging a double-double (16.9 points, 10.3 rebounds per game) for the school that finished atop the DII men's basketball regular-season rankings that season.

REMEMBERING FRANCIS: A look back at his career

The list will be cut three more times before the winner is announced on April 8. Here are the important dates:

  • February 15, 2020: Top 50
  • March 15, 2020: Top 25
  • April 4, 2020: Finalists
  • April 6, 2020: The 2019 Bevo Francis Award winner announced 

The complete watchlist is below in alphabetical order.

Name Year School
DeQuan Abrom Sr. Belmont Abbey
Jubie Alade Sr. St. John’s (MN)
Buzz Anthony Jr. Randolph-Macon
Mason Baker Jr. Colorado School of Mines
Diego Bernard So. Northwest Missouri State
Dalton Bolon Jr. West Liberty
Tyler Borchers Sr.  Morningside
Anthony Brown Sr. Lincoln Memorial
Keith Brown Sr.  Endicott
DeAnte Bruton Sr. Nichols
Ethan Bublitz Sr. Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Kevin Buckingham Sr. Southeastern Oklahoma State
Brian Cameron Sr. Wesley (DE)
Tim Cameron Jr. Loyola (LA)
Daniel Carr Sr. Queens (NC)
Armand Cartwright Sr. Rochester
Harrison Cleary Sr. Minnesota Crookston
Chris Coffey Sr. Georgetown
Ben College Sr. Whitworth
Riley Collins Sr. Drew
Alex Cook Sr. Bellarmine
Booker Coplin Sr. Augsburg
Eljay Cowherd Sr. Georgetown
TJ Crockett Jr. Lindenwood
Romeo Crouch Jr. Embry-Riddle
Will Crumley Jr. Covenant
J.J. Culver Sr. Wayland Baptist
Trevion Crews Jr. Bethel (IN)
Zaccheus Darko-Kelly Jr. Providence (MT)
Jack Davidson Jr. Wabash
Eric Demers Sr. Gordon
Marcus Dempsey Jr. Muskingum
Derrick DeVries Sr. Calvin
Jhonathan Dunn Sr. Southern Nazarene
Cayden Edmonson Sr. Bethel (TN)
Micah Elan Sr. Pomona-Pitzer
Jason Ellis Jr. Marietta
Mitchell Fink Sr. Oregon Tech
Armoni Foster So. Indiana (Pa)
Parker Fox So. Northern State
Adam Fravert Sr. Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Brock Gardner Sr. The Master’s
Conley Garrison Jr. Drury
Grant Gelon Jr. Bethel (IN)
Kena Gilmour Sr. Hamilton
Ashford Golden Sr. Mid-America Christian
Mark Gordon Sr. Keiser
Qua Grant So. West Texas A&M
Kyler Gregory Sr. Guilford
Austin Grunder So. SUNY-Cortland
Clay Guillozet Sr. Valdosta State
Brett Hanson Sr. Florida Southern
LaJuan Hardy Sr. West Alabama
Ryan Hawkins Jr. Northwest Missouri State
Josh Hawley Sr. Tarleton State
Jalyn Hinton Jr. Florida Southern
Ty Hoglund Sr. Dakota Wesleyan
Brian Hogan-Gary Sr. Johnson & Wales (RI)
Trevor Hudgins So. Northwest Missouri State
Chris Hudson Sr. Bentley
Trevor Jasinsky Sr. Western Washington
Jimmy King Sr. Indianapolis
Jevon Knox Jr. Mount Vernon Nazarene
Jackson Lamb Sr. Briar Cliff
Darius Lasley Sr. Clarke (IA)
Gabriel Leifer Sr. Yeshiva
KJ Lesure Sr. Arkansas-Monticello
Luka Majstorovic Sr. Embry-Riddle
DeVaughn Mallory Sr. Jefferson
Matthew Mancuso Sr. Scranton
Kyle Mangas Jr. Indiana Wesleyan
Paul Marandet Sr. Spring Arbor
Cam Martin Jr.  Missouri Southern
Justin Martin Sr. Multnomah
Mark Matthews Sr. Nova Southeastern
Selom Mawugbe Sr. Azusa Pacific
Courvoisier McCauley So. Lincoln Memorial
Damek Mitchell Jr. Lewis-Clark (ID)
Deshawn Munson Jr. Harris-Stowe
Joel Murray So. West Texas A&M
Brandon Myer Sr. Minnesota Duluth
Jack Nolan Jr. Washington University
Zac O’Dell Sr. Swarthmore
Christian Oshita Sr. UC San Diego
Connor Raridon Sr. North Central College
Nic Reed Sr. Olivet Nazarene
Jake Rhode Jr. Elmhurst
Jake Ross Sr. Springfield (MA)
Nate Schimonitz Sr. Nebraska Wesleyan
Andrew Sischo Jr. Daemen
Tim Soares Sr. The Master’s
Ashton Spears Sr. St. Edward’s
Micah Speight Sr. Southern Nazarene
Justin Summers Sr. Brockport
Hasan Varence Sr. Ohio Dominican
Jared Wagner Sr. York (PA)
Nate West Sr. LeTourneau
Ben Weyer Sr. Bellarmine
Pierson Wofford Sr. Augustana (IL)
Zach Wrightsil So. Loyola (LA)

DIII men's basketball star has faith untraditional path leads to the pros

Though he had offers to play Division I ball, Ryan Turell chose to play in Division III at Yeshiva, a private Jewish school in New York City where he developed a close bond with his coaches and teammates.

These are the top 12 undrafted rookies to watch in NBA Summer League

Andy Katz reveals his top 12 undrafted rookies to watch in NBA Summer League prior to the start of the Summer League on July 7.

These college basketball teams and conferences have the most NBA first-round draft picks

Kentucky, North Carolina and Duke are the college basketball teams with the most first-round picks in NBA draft history.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners