basketball-men-d1 flag

The Atlanta Tipoff Club | February 21, 2020

15 coaches named to Werner Ladder Naismith Trophy Men's Coach of the Year late-season watch list

College basketball rankings: Penn State cracks top 10 in AP poll, Power 36

The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today the 15 men's basketball coaches for its late-season watch list for the Werner Ladder Naismith Trophy for Men's Coach of the Year. The list will be narrowed down to 10 semifinalists on March 6 and four finalists on March 18, leading up to a winner being named on April 5.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: 30 candidates named to Naismith Trophy Player of the Year midseason team

The Big East and Big Ten lead the conferences in representation with three coaches, followed by the ACC and Big 12 with two. In total, eight different conferences are represented.

Tennessee's Rick Barnes won the award last season, while Gonzaga's Mark Few is the only former winner to make the late-season list this year after the Bulldogs finished the 2016-17 regular season with a 32-1 record.

Patrick Chambers Penn State Big Ten
Scott Drew Baylor Big 12
Brian Dutcher San Diego State Mountain West
Mark Few Gonzaga WCC
Anthony Grant Dayton Atlantic 10
Leonard Hamilton Florida State ACC
Bob Huggins West Virginia Big 12
Ben Jacobson Northern Iowa Missouri Valley
LaVall Jordan Butler Big East
Chris Mack Louisville ACC
Greg McDermott Creighton Big East
Bruce Pearl Auburn SEC
Steve Pikiell Rutgers Big Ten
Brad Underwood Illinois Big Ten
Kevin Willard Seton Hall Big East

Colleges with the most overall No. 1 picks in NFL draft history

These are the colleges with the most No. 1 overall picks in the NFL Draft since it began in 1936, led by Notre Dame, Oklahoma and USC with five each.

Malik Willis: College football stats, highlights, records

A quick guide to Malik Willis' college football career at Auburn and Liberty, including stats and notable performances.

7 programs with strong cases to be college basketball's next 1st-time champion

These schools have never won a men's basketball national championship — for now.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners