basketball-men-d2 flag

Wayne Cavadi | | February 21, 2020

No. 1 Northwest Missouri State downs No. 17 Missouri Southern at the buzzer for 7th-straight MIAA title

DII college basketball: Trevor Hudgins sinks game-winner for Northwest Missouri State's 7th-straight MIAA title

It's been quite the week for the defending DII college basketball champions. One day after earning the No. 1 seed in the Central Region, Northwest Missouri State took it to the wire against No. 17 Missouri Southern, with a dramatic Trevor Hudgins buzzer-beater giving the Bearcats the 77-76 victory.

RANKINGS: Northwest tops the latest Power 10 | First regional rankings released

It was the second time in a week the Bearcats defeated their biggest threat in the MIAA. One Thursday ago, Northwest traveled to Joplin and took down Missouri Southern in dominating 96-75 fashion. It was quite the opposite Thursday, Feb. 20, as it came right down to the final play. Hudgins — who finished with 19 points — drove the court after a missed Lions' free throw, snuck into the lane, and dropped the bucket in, falling away from the basket as the buzzer sounded.

It was the Bearcats 17th-straight victory, one which locked up its seventh consecutive MIAA title. Northwest Missouri State will head to the MIAA tournament the undoubted top seed looking to become the first repeat national champion since 1994. 

DII college basketball Week 5 power 10 rankings

For the third-straight week, the Bellarmine Knights are the top team in the DII men's basketball Power 10. Here's a look at the final rankings of 2019.

DII college basketball Week 4 Power 10 rankings

Another week of the DII men's basketball season sees two top 5 teams go down in upset fashion. While Bellarmine improved to 7-0, there was a shakeup in this week's Power 10 basketball rankings.

How Northwest Missouri State basketball's winning streak matches up in history

Let's see how the Northwest Missouri State men's basketball winning streak matches up in college basketball history.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners