basketball-men-d1 flag

The Atlanta Tipoff Club | March 11, 2020

10 semifinalists announced for the Men’s Citizen Naismith Player of the Year award

Power 36: Gonzaga, Dayton, Kentucky climb in top-5

The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today the 10 semifinalists named for the the Citizen Naismith Trophy, which is awarded to the season's best Division I men's basketball player.

Four finalists will be named on March 17, and the winner will be announced on April 5.

DEFENSIVE POY: 10 semifinalists announced for Naismith Men’s Defensive Player of the Year award

In a pool of seven different conferences represented, the Big 12, Big East and Big Ten lead all with two semifinalists. Former winners include Duke's Zion Williamson (2019), Villanova's Jalen Brunson (2018) and Kansas' Frank Mason III (2017).

Udoka Azubuike Sr. C Kansas Big 12
Vernon Carey Jr. Fr. C Duke ACC
Devon Dotson So. G Kansas Big 12
Malachi Flynn Jr. G San Diego State Mountain West
Luka Garza Jr. C Iowa Big Ten
Markus Howard Sr. G Marquette Big East
Myles Powell Sr. G Seton Hall Big East
Payton Pritchard Sr. G Oregon Pac-12
Jalen Smith So. F Maryland Big Ten
Obi Toppin So. F Dayton Atlantic 10

South Carolina's Dawn Staley, Dayton's Anthony Grant named 2020 Naismith Coaches of the Year

South Carolina's Dawn Staley and Dayton's Anthony Grant are the first coaches from their respective schools to win the Naismith Coach of the Year award.

Dayton's Obi Toppin, Anthony Grant sweep AP honors as player, coach of the year

Obi Toppin and Anthony Grant spent the season transforming Dayton from an unranked team into a contender. For that, the Flyers' duo were named AP player and coach of the year.

Unanimous first-teamer Obi Toppin leads 2019-20 college basketball AP All-American team


Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners