basketball-men-d1 flag

The Atlanta Tipoff Club | March 11, 2020

10 semifinalists announced for the Men’s Citizen Naismith Player of the Year award

Power 36: Gonzaga, Dayton, Kentucky climb in top-5

The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today the 10 semifinalists named for the the Citizen Naismith Trophy, which is awarded to the season's best Division I men's basketball player.

Four finalists will be named on March 17, and the winner will be announced on April 5.

DEFENSIVE POY: 10 semifinalists announced for Naismith Men’s Defensive Player of the Year award

In a pool of seven different conferences represented, the Big 12, Big East and Big Ten lead all with two semifinalists. Former winners include Duke's Zion Williamson (2019), Villanova's Jalen Brunson (2018) and Kansas' Frank Mason III (2017).

Udoka Azubuike Sr. C Kansas Big 12
Vernon Carey Jr. Fr. C Duke ACC
Devon Dotson So. G Kansas Big 12
Malachi Flynn Jr. G San Diego State Mountain West
Luka Garza Jr. C Iowa Big Ten
Markus Howard Sr. G Marquette Big East
Myles Powell Sr. G Seton Hall Big East
Payton Pritchard Sr. G Oregon Pac-12
Jalen Smith So. F Maryland Big Ten
Obi Toppin So. F Dayton Atlantic 10

11 dark horse Final Four teams in men's college basketball, ranked by Andy Katz

NCAA's Andy Katz picks 11 potential Final Four sleepers for the 2022-23 men's college basketball season.

11 impact sophomores in men's college basketball, ranked by Andy Katz

Andy Katz ranks the sophomores he predicts will have the biggest impact in DI men's college basketball for the upcoming 2022-23 season.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners