basketball-men-d1 flag | May 27, 2020

1952 NCAA tournament: Bracket, scores, stats, records

Throwback Thursday: 1951-1952 Kansas

The 1952 NCAA tournament concluded when Kansas beat St. John's 80-63 to win the national title. The Jayhawks' Clyde Lovellette won Most Outstanding Player and led all players with 141 points.

Illinois and Santa Clara also reached the Final Four in Seattle, Washington.

1952 NCAA tournament: Bracket

Click or tap here for a closer look at the 1952 March Madness bracket.

Here is the 1952 NCAA tournament bracket

1952 NCAA tournament: Scores

  • Regional Semifinals
    • Kentucky 82, Penn State 54
    • St. John's 60, NC State 49
    • Illinois 80, Dayton 61
    • Duquesne 60, Princeton 49
    • Kansas 68, TCU 64
    • Saint Louis 62, New Mexico State 53
    • Santa Clara 68, UCLA 59
    • Wyoming 54, Oklahoma City 48
  • Regional Third Place Games
    • NC State 69, Penn State 60
    • Dayton 77, Princeton 61
    • TCU 61, New Mexico State 44
    • Oklahoma City 55, UCLA 53
  • Regional Finals
    • St. John's 64, Kentucky 57
    • Illinois 74, Duquesne 68
    • Kansas 74, Saint Louis 55
    • Santa Clara 56, Wyoming 53
  • Final Four (Seattle, Washington)
    • National semifinals
      • St. John's 61, Illinois 59
      • Kansas 74, Santa Clara 55
    • National third place game
      • Illinois 67, Santa Clara 64
    • National championship
      • Kansas 80, St. John's 63

1952 NCAA tournament: Stats, records

Here are the tournament leaders, with games in parentheses (minimum three games):

Individual scoring

  • Clyde Lovellette, Kansas (4) — 35.3 points per game

Tournament history

  • This year marked the first time tournament games were broadcast regionally.
  • The number of regional sites doubled from two to four, with the last four teams advancing to the finals. This meant the first true instance of the Final Four.

Chris Rastatter named NCAA men’s basketball national coordinator of officials

Chris Rastatter, who has 27 years of experience with college basketball officiating, has been named the NCAA’s national coordinator of men’s basketball officiating, effective Thursday. Rastatter replaces J.D. Collins, who will be retiring in October from the position he has held since 2015.

Delaware State one of four HBCUs to compete in Michael B. Jordan-led HBCU Legacy Hoops Classic

Delaware State is one of four teams invited to compete in actor and producer Michael B. Jordan's Invesco QQQ Legacy Classic, to be aired by Turner Sports' TNT.

2023 Men’s Final Four brings college internship course to local university students

The 2023 NCAA Men’s Final Four and Houston Local Organizing Committee (HLOC) will provide 60 area college students with a unique opportunity to engage with the planning for the National Championship and its ancillary events through a course beginning this fall.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners