basketball-men-d1 flag

Andy Wittry | | March 28, 2021

Memphis defeats Mississippi State to win 2021 NIT championship

The 2021 Sweet 16, ranked by Andy Katz

No. 1 seed Memphis won the 2021 NIT on Sunday, defeating No. 4 seed Mississippi State 77-65, giving the Tigers their second NIT title, in addition to one won in 2002 under former coach John Calipari. Four Tigers scored in double figures, led by sophomore Boogie Ellis's game-high 23 points on 6-of-12 shooting, including four 3-pointers. Landers Nolley, who scored 10 points against Mississippi State, earned NIT Most Outstanding Player honors after averaging 16.5 points per game in Memphis' NIT wins over Dayton, Boise State, Colorado State and Mississippi State.

Memphis shot just 41 percent from 2-point range in the NIT championship but the Tigers made 10-of-22 3-pointers, while out-rebounding Mississippi State 44-36.

The Tigers finish their season with a 20-8 record after finishing in third place in the American Athletic Conference in the regular season in their third season under Memphis great Penny Hardaway, who returned to coach the Tigers.

'NCAA March Madness Confidential' returns with behind-the-scenes coverage of seven NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship teams

Turner Sports and CBS Sports’ joint coverage of the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship will include the return of NCAA March Madness Confidential, providing exclusive, behind-the-scenes access to seven NCAA Tournament teams. This year’s Confidential series features Auburn, Kentucky, Wisconsin, Texas Tech, Providence, Memphis and Notre Dame.

Men's basketball scores: The good, the bad and the ugly from this weekend in college basketball

So how was your weekend? In college basketball, they came in all flavors — good, bad and ugly. But with February near, many of them set a tone for the future.

Men's college basketball undefeated teams: The last undefeated team from every season this century, ranked

Here are the final undefeated DI men's college basketball teams from every season since 2000, and a ranking of which of those 23 teams is the best.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners