basketball-men-d1 flag

Naismith Hall of Fame | October 22, 2021

Basketball Hall of Fame names 20 small forwards to 2022 Julius Erving Award watch list

College basketball rankings: UCLA heads final Power 36 of the preseason

Springfield, Mass. — The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 20 watch list members for the 2022 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award. Named after Class of 1993 Hall of Famer and 16-year professional basketball player Julius Erving, the annual honor in its eighth year recognizes the top small forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

PRESEASON RANKINGS: Here is the first AP Poll of the season

“With the new season on the horizon, we could not be more excited to watch the stars of the collegiate game take the floor and do what they do best,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “We encourage fans to support their favorite players by participating in the Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies. These prestigious awards are not possible without the support of the fans, Dell Technologies, our knowledgeable selection committee, and the Hall of Famers they represent.”

BRACKET SZN: Here are Andy Katz's preseason March Madness predictions

Julius Erving attended the University of Massachusetts and averaged 26.3 points and 20.2 rebounds per game, making him one of only six NCAA men’s basketball players to average more than 20 points and 20 rebounds per game. After two seasons, Erving made the jump to the American Basketball Association and was the league’s most recognizable player when it merged with the National Basketball Association in 1976. During his professional career, Erving won three championships, four most valuable player awards and three scoring titles. In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

POINT GUARDS: Naismith names 20 point guards to 2022 Bob Cousy Award watch list

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2022 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed to 10 and then in late February to just 5. In March the five finalists will be presented to Mr. Erving and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee where a winner will be selected. 

CENTERS: Naismith names 20 centers to 2022 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award watch list

The winner of the 2022 Julius Erving Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women’s Starting Five.

POWER FORWARDS: Naismith names 20 power forwards to 2022 Karl Malone Award watch list

Previous winners of the Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award include Corey Kispert, Gonzaga (2021), Saddiq Bey, Villanova (2020), Rui Hachimura, Gonzaga (2019), Mikal Bridges, Villanova (2018), Josh Hart, Villanova (2017), Denzel Valentine, Michigan State (2016) and Stanley Johnson, Arizona (2015).

SHOOTING GUARDS: Naismith names 20 shooting guards to 2022 Jerry West Award watch list

For more information on the 2022 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #ErvingAward on Twitter and Instagram. 

Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, October 22.

2022 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award Candidates* 


Marcus Bagley

Arizona St.

Matthew Mayer


Kendall Brown


Jabari Walker


Hyunjung Lee


AJ Griffin


Matthew Cleveland

Florida State

Jalen Wilson


Lucas Williamson


Emoni Bates


Caleb Houstan


Justice Sueing

Ohio State

Ron Harper Jr.


Julian Champagnie

St. John's

Harrison Ingram


Timmy Allen


Kevin Obanor

Texas Tech

Jaime Jaquez Jr.


Patrick Baldwin Jr.


Jermaine Samuels


*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2021-22 season*

Breakout first half shooting by Max Klesmit lifts Wisconsin over No. 3 Marquette

Wisconsin did not let No. 3 Marquette take the lead throughout regulation, led by Max Klesmit's 21 points for a massive 76-64 win over the top-3 team.

Northwestern forces 17 turnovers, Buie drops 31 points to defeat No. 1 Purdue in overtime

Northwestern upsets No. 1 Purdue 92-88 in overtime to hand the Boilermakers their first loss of the season.

35 fun numbers and nuggets from the first month of the men's college basketball season's Mike Lopresti shares some of the most notable numbers from November's wild college basketball slate.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners