basketball-men-d1 flag

Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame | October 25, 2022

20 point guards named to the 2023 Bob Cousy Award watch list

Preseason men's college basketball AP poll instant analysis

Springfield, Mass. (Oct. 24, 2022) — The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 20 watch-list candidates for the 2023 Bob Cousy Award. Named after Class of 1971 Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy, the annual honor, now in its 20th year, recognizes the top point guard in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

FRESHMAN IMPACT PLAYERS: Andy Katz ranks the top 11 freshmen impact players | Sophomores | Juniors 
“The Hall of Fame is honored to present the Bob Cousy Award to the best point guard in the collegiate game for the 20th consecutive year,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “This year’s class of point guards that have been named to the Bob Cousy Award watch list truly embody the style and reputation of the ‘Houdini of the Hardwood,’ and we look forward to watching their playmaking ability take center stage this season.”

2023 Bob Cousy Award Candidates

Jahvon Quinerly, Alabama
Caleb Love, North Carolina
Kerr Kriisa, Arizona
Grant Sherfield, Oklahoma
Wendell Green, Jr., Auburn
Max Abmas, Oral Roberts
Isaiah Stevens, Colorado State
Will Richardson, Oregon
Ryan Nembhard, Creighton
Yuri Collins, St. Louis
Antoine Davis, Detroit Mercy
Mike Miles, Jr., TCU
Jeremy Roach, Duke
Tyrese Hunter, Texas
Sahvir Wheeler, Kentucky
Jordan Walker, UAB
Darius McGhee, Liberty
Tyger Campbell, UCLA
Kendric Davis, Memphis
Kihei Clark, Virginia
*Players can play their way onto and off the list at any point in the 2022-23 season.

PRESEASON: Breaking down preseason men's basketball rankings
Fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, in each of the three rounds starting on October 28. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2023 Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed to 10, and then in late February to just 5. In March, the five finalists will be presented to Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee where a winner will be selected. 
The winner of the 2023 Bob Cousy Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Jerry West Award (Shooting Guard), Julius Erving Award (Small Forward), Karl Malone (Power Forward) and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award (Center), in addition to the Women’s Starting Five.
Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Collin Gillespie, Villanova (2022), Ayo Dosunmu, Illinois (2021), Ja Morant, Murray State (2019), Jalen Brunson, Villanova (2018), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004). 

How to pick a 15-2 upset in the NCAA tournament

Pay close attention to free throws and experience if you want to choose the near-improbable and pick a 15 over a 2 in your NCAA tournament bracket.

Billy Packer, longtime college basketball commentator, dies at 82

Billy Packer, a staple of college basketball commentary for more than three decades, passed away Thursday at the age of 82.

Southern Cal men's basketball rallies to upset No. 8 UCLA, 77-64

The Trojans were down double-digits at halftime against their crosstown rivals before riding Boogie Ellis' career performance to the victory.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners