Naismith Trophy

basketball-men-d1 flag | April 6, 2014

Doug McDermott wins 2014 Men's Naismith Trophy

Naismith Award Winner 2014: Doug McDermott

DALLAS -- After two consecutive seasons of being an award finalist, the third time was a charm for Creighton senior Doug McDermott, as he was named winner of the 2014 Naismith Trophy for Men’s College Player of the Year presented by AT&T.

The Atlanta Tipoff Club made the announcement Sunday night during the AT&T National Association of Basketball Coaches’ Guardians of the Game Awards Show at the Music Hall at Fair Park in Dallas. The other finalists included Arizona junior Nick Johnson, Duke freshman Jabari Parker and Louisville senior Russ Smith.

McDermott was one of four finalists for the Naismith Trophy in 2013 and 2012, but saw Trey Burke (Michigan) and Anthony Davis (Kentucky) take home the award.

1969 Lew Alcindor UCLA
1970 Pete Maravich LSU
1971 Austin Carr Notre Dame
1972 Bill Walton UCLA
1973 Bill Walton UCLA
1974 Bill Walton UCLA
1975 David Thompson NC State
1976 Scott May Indiana
1977 Marques Johnson UCLA
1978 Butch Lee Marquette
1979 Larry Bird Indiana State
1980 Mark Aguirre DePaul
1981 Ralph Sampson Virginia
1982 Ralph Sampson Virginia
1983 Ralph Sampson Virginia
1984 Michael Jordan North Carolina
1985 Patrick Ewing Georgetown
1986 Johnny Dawkins Duke
1987 David Robinson Navy
1988 Danny Manning Kansas
1989 Danny Ferry Duke
1990 Lionel Simmons La Salle
1991 Larry Johnson UNLV
1992 Christian Laettner Duke
1993 Calbert Cheaney Indiana
1994 Glenn Robinson Purdue
1995 Joe Smith Maryland
1996 Marcus Camby UMass
1997 Tim Duncan Wake Forest
1998 Antawn Jamison North Carolina
1999 Elton Brand Duke
2000 Kenyon Martin Cincinnati
2001 Shane Battier Duke
2002 Jason Williams Duke
2003 T. J. Ford Texas
2004 Jameer Nelson Saint Joseph's
2005 Andrew Bogut Utah
2006 J. J. Redick Duke
2007 Kevin Durant Texas
2008 Tyler Hansbrough North Carolina
2009 Blake Griffin Oklahoma
2010 Evan Turner Ohio State
2011 Jimmer Fredette Brigham Young
2012 Anthony Davis Kentucky
2013 Trey Burke Michigan
2014 Doug McDermott Creighton
First created in 1969, UCLA’s Lew Alcindor was the inaugural winner.

During the current season, McDermott averaged 26.7 points and 7.0 rebounds in leading the Bluejays to a 27-8 record, and a second-place finish in the Big East, Creighton’s first season in the conference. With 3,150 points and 1,088 rebounds, McDermott is one of only three men in NCAA history with 3,000 points and 1,000 rebounds in a career. After earning Missouri Valley Conference Player of the Year honors as a sophomore and a junior, he claimed the 2014 Big East POY award, making him just the third player in NCAA history to win POY honors in multiple conferences. McDermott was just one of three men to become a three-time All-American.

“With Doug you have to reflect not only on the current season but also his entire career to appreciate the full impact he had on college basketball,” said Eric Oberman, Atlanta Tipoff Club Executive Director. “He’s got all the intangibles to make him a tremendous all-around player, and he showcased those attributes this season. It’s an honor for us to call him a Naismith Trophy winner.”

Said his father, Creighton head coach Greg McDermott, “Doug has been the ultimate team player since arriving at Creighton four years ago, and there's no one happier about his individual success than his teammates. He has experienced tremendous acclaim for his play on the court, and to do so while also serving as a role model for so many people makes recognition like the Naismith Trophy so special.”

McDermott was chosen by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s national voting academy, which based its selection on individual performances throughout the 2013-14 men’s college basketball season, and by fans, which were eligible to vote via a desktop and mobile device voting program from March 24 through April 5. For the 10th consecutive year, fans have contributed to the selection of the Naismith Trophy for Men’s College Player of the Year presented by AT&T. The fan vote accounts for 25 percent of the vote total.

The vote was tabulated by the accounting, tax and business consulting firm Habif, Arogeti & Wynne, LLP. HA&W is a top 50 US accounting firm and a 2013 "Best of the Best" firm, as named by Inside Public Accounting.

“We’d like to congratulate and thank each of this year’s nominees for their commitment to superior athletic performance, sportsmanship and leadership; and a special thank you to the fans who again helped select the winner,” said David Christopher, chief marketing officer, AT&T. “It’s an honor to welcome three-time finalist Doug McDermott into the elite company of Naismith Trophy recipients. His passion for the game has shown throughout his collegiate career.”

Other notable Naismith Trophy alumni include a pair of three-time winners in Bill Walton (1972, ‘73, ‘74) and Ralph Sampson (1981, ‘82, ‘83), as well as Michael Jordan (1984), Kevin Durant (2007) and Blake Griffin (2009). The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball’s best player.

For more information, visit

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners