Naismith Trophy

basketball-men-d1 flag

Atlanta Tipoff Club | February 11, 2016

Naismith Watch: Ben Simmons, Buddy Hield among midseason finalists

  LSU's Ben Simmons (left) and Oklahoma's Buddy Hield (right) highlight the Naismith midseason watch list.

The list of players eligible for the Naismith Trophy has been trimmed to 35.

The initial 50-man 2015-16 watch list was released last December. The 10 semifinalists will be announced March 2 and four finalists will be revealed on March 20. The winner receives the award on the first weekend of April during the Final Four in Houston.

RELATED:Oakland's Kay Felder has put up some incredible numbers this season

Since 1969, The Naismith Trophy has been given annually to the nation’s best college basketball player. Dominant center Lew Alcindor (UCLA) won the first award and scoring machine Pete Maravich (LSU) earned it the following year. In recent seasons past winners included seniors Frank Kaminsky (Wisconsin, 2015) and Doug McDermott (Creighton, 2014), freshmen Anthony Davis (Kentucky, 2012) and Kevin Durant (Texas, 2007), guards such as Trey Burke (Michigan, 2013) and forwards like Blake Griffin (Oklahoma, 2009).

See the complete midseason list of players below:

AJ Hammons Senior C Purdue Big 10  
Anthony "Cat" Barber Junior G North Carolina State ACC  
Ben Bentil Sophomore F Providence Big East  
Ben Simmons Freshman F LSU SEC  
Brandon Ingram Freshman G-F Duke ACC  
Brice Johnson Senior F North Carolina ACC  
Buddy Hield Senior SG Oklahoma Big 12
Damion Lee Senior G Louisville ACC  
Demetrius Jackson Junior G Notre Dame ACC  
Denzel Valentine Senior G Michigan State Big 10  
Dillon Brooks Sophomore F Oregon Pac 12  
Domantas Sabonis Sophomore PF Gonzaga West Coast
Fred VanVleet Senior PG Wichita St. Missouri Valley  
Gary Payton II Senior G Oregon State Pac 12  
Georges Niang Senior PF Iowa State Big 12  
Grayson Allen Sophomore SG Duke ACC  
Jakob Poeltl Sophomore F-C Utah Pac 12  
Jalen Jones Junior G-F Texas A&M SEC  
Jamal Murray Freshman SG Kentucky SEC  
Jameel Warney Senior F Stony Brook American East  
Jarrod Uthoff Senior F Iowa Big 10  
Josh Hart Junior SG Villanova Big East  
Kay Felder Junior PG Oakland Horizon  
Kris Dunn Junior G Providence Big East  
Kyle Wiltjer Senior PF Gonzaga West Coast  
Malcolm Brogdon Senior SG Virginia ACC  
Melo Trimble Sophomore PG Maryland Big 10  
Monte Morris Junior G Iowa State Big 12  
Nic Moore Senior PG SMU American Athletic
Perry Ellis Senior PF Kansas Big 12  
Sheldon McClellan Senior G Miami (Fla.) ACC  
Trevon Bluiett Sophomore G Xavier Big East  
Tyler Ulis Sophomore PG Kentucky SEC  
Wayne Selden Jr. Junior G-F Kansas Big 12  
Yogi Ferrell Senior PG Indiana Big 10  


Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners