Naismith Trophy

basketball-men-d1 flag

Joe Boozell | | February 14, 2018

Naismith Trophy Top 30 list announced

Trae Young feeds off of fear

On Wednesday, the Naismith Trophy announced its top 30 players in consideration for the 2018 men’s college player of the year. The Big East and Big 12 are tied for the lead with five players each, followed by the ACC and Big Ten with four apiece. The 10 semifinalists will be announced on Feb. 28.

Electrifying Oklahoma freshman guard Trae Young is on the list, as expected. Young leads all Division I players in scoring and assists per game as he looks to lead the Sooners to their second Final Four in three seasons. With a strong individual finish, Young has a chance to average 30 points and 10 assists per game.

Young isn’t the only freshman on the list. Arizona’s Deandre Ayton and Duke’s Marvin Bagley III, often compared to one another, are also in the running for the Naismith. Ayton is putting up 19.5 points and 10.7 rebounds per game, while Bagley is averaging 21.2 and 11.4 for Duke. Despite having several well-known teammates, Bagley is the only Blue Devil to make the final 30.

The list contains several upperclassmen, too, headlined by Villanova point guard Jalen Brunson. Brunson has a chance to win his second national championship in three seasons with the Wildcats, and is averaging 20.1 points and 4.7 assists as a junior. Mikal Bridges, Brunson’s teammate, also makes the list. Bridges is shooting a career-high 41 percent from 3-point land this year.

RANKINGS: AP Top 25 reactions | Committee releases first Top 16

Another talented Bridges, Miles, also makes the final 30. The Michigan State Spartan solidified his candidacy after a huge showing against Purdue over the weekend, where he scored 20 points and hit the game-winning 3-pointer. Bridges is the only Spartan to make the list.

Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, the creator of the game of basketball, the first Naismith trophy was awarded in 1969 to UCLA’s Lew Alcindor, later known as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. 

Here's the full list:

Deandre Ayton Freshman F Arizona Pac-12
Marvin Bagley III Freshman F Duke ACC
Mohamed Bamba Freshman F Texas Big 12
Keita Bates-Diop Junior F Ohio State Big Ten
Joel Berry II Senior G North Carolina ACC
Trevon Bluiett Senior G Xavier BIG EAST
Mikal Bridges Junior G/F Villanova BIG EAST
Miles Bridges Sophomore G/F Michigan State Big Ten
Bryce Brown Junior G Auburn SEC
Jalen Brunson Junior G Villanova BIG EAST
Jevon Carter Senior G West Virginia Big 12
Gary Clark Junior F Cincinnati American Athletic
Mike Daum Junior F South Dakota State Summit League
Angel Delgado Senior C Seton Hall BIG EAST
Carsen Edwards Sophomore G Purdue Big Ten
Vince Edwards Senior F Purdue Big Ten
Keenan Evans Senior G Texas Tech Big 12
Marcus Foster Senior G Creighton BIG EAST
Devonte' Graham Senior G Kansas Big 12
Kyle Guy Sophomore G Virginia ACC
Tra Holder Senior G Arizona State Pac-12
Chandler Hutchison Senior G Boise State Mountain West
Kevin Knox Freshman F Kentucky SEC
Jock Landale Senior C St. Mary's WCC
Caleb Martin Junior F Nevada Mountain West
Luke Maye Junior F North Carolina ACC
Collin Sexton Freshman G Alabama SEC
Landry Shamet Sophomore G Wichita State American Athletic
Allonzo Trier Junior G Arizona Pac-12
Trae Young Freshman G Oklahoma Big 12

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners