basketball-women-d1 flag

Wooden Award release | January 9, 2019

Women's college basketball: 2019 Wooden Award midseason top 25 watch list

Arike Ogunbowale headlines the women's basketball Wooden Award midseason watch list

On the 2019 Wooden Award Midseason Top 25 Watch List, three players make their debut on the Wooden Watch after not being named on the Preseason Top 30: Kenisha Bell of Minnesota, Rhyne Howard of Kentucky, and Aari McDonald of Arizona. Four schools have multiple players on the list, led by Connecticut (Napheesa Collier, Crystal Dangerfield, and Katie Lou Samuelson) and Notre Dame (Arike Ogunbowale, Jessica Shepard, and Jackie Young) with three selections each, followed by two schools with two selections each: Baylor (Kalani Brown and Lauren Cox) and Oregon (Ruthy Hebard and Sabrina Ionescu).

The Pac-12 leads all conferences with six selections on the midseason top 25; followed by the ACC and SEC with five selections each; and the American, Big 12 and Big Ten with three selections apiece.

RANKINGS: AP Top 25 | USA Today Top 25

The players on the list are considered strong candidates for the 2019 John R. Wooden Award presented by Wendy’s. The leading candidates will be further pared to 20 top players in early February. Fifteen top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA will be submitted to voters on the Final Ballot prior to the NCAA tournament. Every year, players have made the Final Ballot that were not on the preseason or midseason lists. Voters are permitted to take into consideration the opening rounds of the NCAA tournament when casting the ballot. The Wooden Award All American Team™ will be announced the week of the “Elite Eight” round of the NCAA tournament. The winner of the 2019 John R. Wooden Award will be presented during the ESPN College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s on Friday, April 12, 2019.

Name School Class Position
Kristine Anigwe California Sr. F/C
Kenisha Bell Minnesota Sr. G
Kalani Brown Baylor Sr. C
Bridget Carleton Iowa State Sr. G
Chennedy Carter Texas A&M So. G
Kaila Charles Maryland Jr. G
Napheesa Collier Connecticut Sr. F
Lauren Cox Baylor Jr. F
Sophie Cunningham Missouri Sr. G
Crystal Dangerfield Connecticut Jr. G
Rennia Davis Tennessee So. G/F
Asia Durr# Louisville Sr. G
Megan Gustafson Iowa Sr. F
Ruthy Hebard Oregon Jr. F
Rhyne Howard Kentucky Fr. G
Sabrina Ionescu# Oregon Jr. G
Tiana Mangakahia Syracuse Jr. G
Teaira McCowan Mississippi State Sr. C
Aari McDonald Arizona So. G
Arike Ogunbowale Notre Dame Sr. G
Katie Lou Samuelson# Connecticut Sr. G/F
Jessica Shepard Notre Dame Sr. F
Destiny Slocum Oregon State So. G
Alanna Smith Stanford Sr. F
Jackie Young Notre Dame Jr. G

Nina King to continue as NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee chair in 2021-22; Beth Goetz named to chair committee in 2022-23

Duke’s Nina King will continue in her role as chair of the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee in 2021-22, while Beth Goetz of Ball State has been named vice chair for the coming season before stepping into the chair position in 2022-23.

Where the U.S. Olympic women's 3x3 basketball team played in college

The four-player roster for the 2020 U.S. Olympic women's 3x3 basketball team featured a player from UConn, one from Notre Dame, one from Washington and another from South Carolina.

Where the 2021 WNBA All-Stars played college

The 2021 WNBA All-Star Game is set for July 14 in Las Vegas. This is the first time the event will happen in the same year as the Summer Olympics — and the U.S. roster is the All-Stars' opponent for the game.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners