March 8, 2009

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division II Women’s Basketball Committee announced today the field of 64 teams for the 2009 NCAA Division II Women’s Basketball Championship.

Twenty-two conferences have been awarded automatic qualification. The committee selected the remaining 42 teams at-large.

Eight regional tournaments, consisting of eight teams each, will be conducted at campus sites March 13, 14 and 16. The regional champions will advance to the NCAA Women’s Elite Eight March 24, 25 and 27 at Bill Greehey Arena in San Antonio, Texas. St. Mary’s University (Texas) and the San Antonio Sports will host the Elite Eight.

Conferences that received automatic qualification, and the institutions representing them, are as follows:

California Collegiate Athletic Association - Cal State Dominguez Hills
Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference - Philadelphia U.
Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association- Johnson C. Smith
Conference Carolinas - Anderson (South Carolina)
East Coast Conference - Queens (New York)
Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Hillsdale
Great Lakes Valley Conference - Northern Kentucky
Great Northwest Athletic Conference - Seattle Pacific
Gulf South Conference - Delta State
Heartland Conference - Incarnate Word
Lone Star Conference - West Texas A&M
Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association - Washburn    
Northeast-10 Conference - Franklin Pierce
Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference - St. Cloud State
Pacific West Conference - Grand Canyon
Peach Belt Conference - Lander
Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference - Indiana (Pa.)
Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference - Colorado State-Pueblo
South Atlantic Conference - Lenoir-Rhyne
Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Fort Valley State
Sunshine State Conference - Tampa    
West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Charleston (West Virginia)

Those institutions receiving at-large berths are, in alphabetical order:

Abilene Christian
Alaska Anchorage
American International
Augustana (South Dakota)
California (Pennsylvania)
Central Oklahoma
Clark Atlanta
Clayton State
District of Columbia
Emporia State
Fayetteville State
Fort Lewis
Francis Marion
Grand Valley State
Holy Family
Humboldt State
Michigan Tech
Minnesota State Mankato
Minnesota State Moorhead
Northwest Nazarene
Northwood (Michigan)
Ouachita Baptist
South Carolina Aiken
Southeastern Oklahoma
St. Mary’s (Texas)
St. Rose
UC San Diego
Valdosta State
Western Washington
Winona State

For more information about the NCAA Division II Women’s Basketball Championship log on to