March 27, 2009

Watch Game Highlights! | Interactive Bracket

SAN ANTONIO - Heather Johnson scored 29 points and Alex Andrews 25 to lead No. 4-ranked Minnesota State-Mankato to a 103-94 victory over No. 14-rated Franklin Pierce in the 2009 NCAA, Division II Women's Basketball Championship. The title was the first for the Mavericks, which finished 32-2. Franklin Pierce closed the season 29-6.

The game was fast-paced throughout. Minnesota State held a 58-56 advantage at halftime and pushed it to six in the first five minutes of the second half. Franklin Pierce rallied and ultimately went on a 9-0 run in the second half that pushed the Ravens to an 82-74 advantage with 10:57 remaining.

The Mavericks came back with their own spurt, a 10-2 run capped by a Johnson trey with 6:51 to play.

The teams then traded baskets before a Mankato 10-2 run left the Mavericks in control 98-90 with just over a minute remaining. Minnesota State hit 5-7 free throws down the stretch to seal the title.

Jennifer Leedham scored 31 points for Franklin Pierce. Her sister, Johnnah, added 26 points and 10 rebounds.

Both teams were sizzling from the field. Minnesota State-Mankato hit 41-74 (55 percent) while Franklin Pierce converted 37-65 (57 percent). The Mavericks held a 35-28 rebounding advantage.