Oct. 29, 2009

NCAA Release

INDIANAPOLIS - The NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Committee has selected the first- and second-round and regional sites for the 2011 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship and those sites have been approved by the Administrative Committee of the NCAA Division I Championships/Sports Management Cabinet.

Cities chosen to host first- and second-round games in 2011 include Albuquerque, New Mexico; Auburn, Alabama; Charlottesville, Virginia; Cincinnati, Ohio; College Park, Maryland; Columbus, Ohio; Durham, North Carolina; Knoxville, Tennessee; Salt Lake City, Utah; Spokane, Washington; Shreveport, Louisiana; Stanford, California; Storrs, Connecticut; University Park, Pennsylvania; Waco, Texas; and Wichita, Kansas. The four selected regional sites are Dayton, Ohio; Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Dallas, Texas; and Spokane, Washington.

“The committee was pleased with the level of interest in our championship that we found from cities, institutions and conferences across the country,” said Jane Meyer, senior associate director of athletics at the University of Iowa and chair of the Division I Women’s Basketball Committee. “Of the 20 preliminary sites for 2011, we have 11 different conferences represented, with Wichita and Shreveport hosting for the first time.”

The following first- and second-round sites will host games either Saturday, March 19, and Monday, March 21 or Sunday, March 20 and Tuesday, March 22, 2011 (dates to be determined in June, 2010).

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader