Feb. 18, 2010

Courtesy WBCA

ATLANTA - The Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced today the nation’s top 20 girls’ basketball players selected to participate in the 19th annual WBCA High School All-America Game presented by Nike.

The players who have been chosen will be divided into two teams of 10 players. The college-style regulation game is scheduled to tip off at 4:30 p.m. CT on Saturday, April 3, at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas. This highly-anticipated event is part of the WBCA National Convention, which takes place at the site of the NCAA® Women’s Final Four®.  This year’s event will be the first to be played on the same court as the NCAA Women’s Final Four.  The game is free to the public, however tickets for seating in a reserved section are available at www.wbca.org.

“The future of women’s basketball looks bright when you consider the 20 members of this year’s High School All-America Team,” said WBCA CEO Beth Bass.  “I always look forward to watching this group in action at the WBCA High School All-America Game presented by Nike.  It will be even more exciting for both spectators and the team with the change of venue to the NCAA Women’s Final Four floor!”

Below is the list of players selected to participate in the 2010 WBCA High School All-America Game presented by Nike.


Lauren Avant Lausanne Collegiate School Memphis, Tenn. Tennessee
Kristen Doherty Sachem East High School Holtsville, N.Y. Boston College
Ariel Edwards Christ the King Regional H.S. Elmont, N.Y. Penn State
Karla Gilbert A&M Consolidated H.S. College Station, Texas Texas A&M
Chelsea Gray Saint Mary's High School Manteca, Calif. Duke
Cassie Harberts San Clemente High School San Clemente, Calif. USC
Bria Hartley North Babylon High School North Babylon, N.Y. UConn
Kaneisha Horn Ramsay High School Birmingham, Ala. Alabama
Natasha Howard Morrison R. Waite High School Toledo, Ohio Florida State
Richa Jackson Midwest City High School Midwest City, Okla. Duke
Sara James Oak Ridge High School El Dorado Hills, Calif. Stanford
Afure Jemerigbe Saint Mary's High School Stockton, Calif. California
Tiffany Moore Frisco High School Frisco, Texas Texas
Chiney Ogwumike Cy-Fair High School Cypress, Texas Stanford
Jennifer O'neill Saint Michael Academy Bronx, N.Y. Kentucky
Shoni Schimmel Franklin High School Portland, Ore. Undeclared
Lindsay Sherbert Great Oak High School Temecula, Calif. California
Meighan Simmons Byron P. Steele High School Cibolo, Texas Tennessee
Odyssey Sims Irving MacArthur High School Irving, Texas Baylor
Samarie Walker Chaminade-Julienne Catholic H.S. West Carrollton, Ohio UConn


“Congratulations to the 20-member WBCA High School All-America Team,” said Gary Glasscock, Chairman of the WBCA High School All-America Team Selection Committee.  “They are among the best high school players in the USA and their hard work, commitment and dedication to this great game made it possible to reach this plateau.  A special thanks to the selection committee who worked hard behind the scenes in fulfilling such as arduous task of selecting the nation’s top players.  Good luck to all the girls in San Antonio, and also on their promising collegiate, and possibly professional careers.”

A committee of WBCA-member high school coaches who represent nine geographical districts from across the nation selected the all-America squad.  The 2010 WBCA High School All-America Game Selection Committee is comprised of: Gary Glasscock (Chair – St. Louis Metro Academic and Classical High School), Stacy Bilodeau (District 1 – Walpole High School), Bob Mackey (District 2 – Christ the King High School), Brian Robinson (District 3 – Bishop McGuinness High School), Pat Diulus (District 4 –Regina High School), Kelly Flynn (District 5 – South Sioux City High School), Teri Morrison (District 6 – Midway High School), Gail Hook (District 7 – Monarch High School), James Anderson (District 8 – Narbonne High School), Robert Mosley (District 9 – Ramsay High School), Brad Smith (Past Chair – Oregon City High School) and Daniella Trujillo (WBCA Staff Liaison).

This marks the 19th year that the WBCA has sanctioned a girls’ high school all-America team.  The inaugural WBCA High School All-America Game was held April 17, 1992 at Oman Arena in Jackson, Tenn.  The second and third annual games were also played at Oman Arena.  The 1995 game, which marked the beginning of Nike's title sponsorship, was played in Altoona, Penn.  The event moved east to Philadelphia in 1996 and south to Nashville in 1997. The game was then held in Hartford, Conn. from 1998 until 2002.  The game made its debut as part of the “WBCA Night of All-Stars” in 2003 and now stands on its own at the site of the WBCA National Convention each year. 

“Nike is honored to partner with the WBCA on this prestigious event,” said Jill Pizzotti, Nike’s Women’s College and Girls Elite Youth Basketball Manager. “The WBCA High School All-America Game provides the elite players from across the country the opportunity  to compete and showcase their talents during the highlight of the women’s basketball season - the NCAA Women’s Final Four in San Antonio, Texas!  Nike recognizes the importance of providing opportunities for girls in sport.  These 20 selected all-Americans are the future of women's basketball.”

The 2010 class of WBCA High School All-Americans joins the list of well-known past participants including Tamika Catchings, Chamique Holdsclaw, Katie Smith, Sue Bird, Diana Taurasi, Alana Beard, Maya Moore and Brittney Griner.

The following 20 players have received Honorable Mention for the 2010 WBCA High School All-America Game presented by Nike:

Stefanie Dolson Minisink Valley High School Slate Hill, N.Y. UConn
Jennifer Hamson Pleasant Grove High School Pleasant Grove, Utah Brigham Young
Jazmin Hitchens Incarnate Word Academy St. Louis, Mo. Ball State
Jordan Hooper Alliance High School Alliance, Neb. Nebraska
Christina Jacobson Max Public K-12 Max, N.D. Undeclared
Jacqueline Jeffcoat Plano West High School Dallas, Texas Oklahoma
Jeanne Kenney Saint Michael The Archangel HS Baton Rouge, La. LSU
Tyaunna Marshall Elizabeth Seton Upper Marlboro, Md. Georgia Tech
Dawnn Maye Dillard High School Laudergill, Fla. Georgia Tech
Kayla McBride Villa Maria Academy Erie, Pa. Notre Dame
Valencia McFarland Raymond High School Edward, Miss. Mississippi
Suriya McGuire Roosevelt High School Minneapolis, Minn. Miami
Vicky McIntyre Omaha Marian High School Omaha, Neb. Undeclared
Khaalidah Miller Douglass High School Mableton, Ga. Georgia
Haley Peters The Peddie School Shrewsbury, N.J. Duke
Theresa Plaisance Vanderbilt Catholic High School Terrebonne Parish, La. LSU
Ronika Ransford Howard D. Woodson HS Washington, D.C. Georgia
Alyssa Thomas Central Dauphin High School Harrisburg, Pa. Maryland
Carli Tritz Bishop Heelan High School Sioux City, Iowa Creighton
Madison Williams Detroit Country Day School Beverly Hills, Mich. Michigan State


About Nike
NIKE, Inc. based near Beaverton, Oregon, is the world's leading designer, marketer and distributor of authentic athletic footwear, apparel, equipment and accessories for a wide variety of sports and fitness activities. Wholly owned Nike subsidiaries include Converse Inc., which designs, markets and distributes athletic footwear, apparel and accessories; Cole Haan, which designs, markets and distributes luxury shoes, handbags, accessories and coats; Umbro Ltd., a leading United Kingdom-based global football (soccer) brand; and Hurley International LLC, which designs, markets and distributes action sports and youth lifestyle footwear, apparel and accessories. For more information, visit www.nikebiz.com.

About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the WBCA promotes women’s basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls. For additional information about the WBCA, please visit wbca.org.