Aug. 5, 2010

Courtesy of WBCA

ATLANTA - The Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), on behalf of the Wade Coalition, announced the 2010-2011 preseason "Wade Watch" list for The State Farm® Wade Trophy Division I Player of the Year. The 25-member list is made up of top NCAA Division I student-athletes who best embody the spirit of Lily Margaret Wade according to the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

This year's list has 19 institutions and 10 conferences represented. Tennessee has three student-athletes on the list - Angie Bjorklund, Kelley Cain and Shekinna Stricklen. Connecticut (Tiffany Hayes and Maya Moore), Xavier (Amber Harris and Ta'Shia Phillips), Stanford (Nnemkadi Ogwumike and Kayla Pedersen) and Ohio State (Jantel Lavender and Samantha Prahalis) each added two to the list.

The BIG EAST and SEC each have four student-athletes on the list, followed by the ACC (3), Big Ten (3), Big 12 (3), Atlantic-10 (2), Colonial Athletic (2), Pac-10 (2), Sun Belt (1) and West Coast (1).

Three seniors in Lavender, Moore and Pedersen are making the list for the third year. Six others become two-time "Wade Watchers" including Hayes (Tennessee), Ta'Shia Phillips (Xavier), Prahalis (Ohio State), Danielle Robinson (University of Oklahoma), Carolyn Swords (Boston College) and Courtney Vandersloot (Gonzaga).

The only two-time winners of The State Farm Wade Trophy include Connecticut's Maya Moore (2009 and 2010), Louisiana State's Seimone Augustus (2005 and 2006) and Old Dominion's Nancy Lieberman (1979 and 1980).

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 34th year and named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. This highly prestigious award, regarded as the "Heisman of Women's Basketball," is organized by the WBCA, in conjunction with the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS).

The 2011 State Farm Wade Trophy winner will be announced at the WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Final Four, in Indianapolis, Indiana.

2010-2011 State Farm Wade Trophy Preseason List
The preseason candidates for The State Farm Wade Trophy are listed in alphabetical order:

Name Year Position Institution
Danielle Adams Senior Center Texas A&M University
Kachine Alexander Senior Guard University of Iowa
Angie Bjorklund Senior Guard University of Tennessee
Kelley Cain Junior Center University of Tennessee
Elena Delle Donne Sophomore Forward University of Delaware
Skylar Diggins Sophomore Guard University of Notre Dame
Victoria Dunlap Senior Forward University of Kentucky
Dawn Evans Senior Guard James Madison University
Brittney Griner Sophomore Center Baylor University
Amber Harris Senior Forward Xavier University
Tiffany Hayes Junior Guard University Of Connecticut
Shenise Johnson Junior Guard University of Miami
Jantel Lavender Senior Center Ohio State University
Maya Moore Senior Forward University Of Connecticut
Nnemkadi Ogwumike Junior Forward Stanford University
Kayla Pedersen Senior Forward Stanford University
Ta'Shia Phillips Senior Center Xavier University
Samantha Prahalis Junior Guard Ohio State University
Chastity Reed Senior Forward Univ. of Arkansas - Little Rock
Danielle Robinson Senior Guard University of Oklahoma
Sugar Rodgers Sophomore Guard Georgetown University
Shekinna Stricklen Junior Guard University of Tennessee
Carolyn Swords Senior Center Boston College
Jasmine Thomas Senior Guard Duke University
Courtney Vandersloot Senior Guard

Gonzaga University

The Wade Trophy Coalition was established in June of 2000 when the WBCA partnered with The National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS). For the past nine years the two have worked together to present The State Farm Wade Trophy Player of the Year Award. A committee comprised of coaches, administration and media from across the United States selects the winner.

About State Farm®
State Farm insures more cars and homes than any other insurer in the U.S., is the leading insurer of watercraft and is also a leading insurer in Canada. State Farm's 17,700 agents and more than 67,000 employees serve 81 million policies and accounts - almost 79 million auto, fire, life and health policies in the United States and Canada, and nearly 2 million bank accounts. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company is the parent of the State Farm family of companies. State Farm is ranked No. 31 on the Fortune 500 list of largest companies. For more information, please visit® or in Canada®.

About the NAGWS
The National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) was established to develop and deliver equitable and quality sport opportunities for ALL girls and women through relevant research, advocacy, leadership development, educational strategies, and programming in a manner that promotes social justice and change.

About the WBCA

Founded in 1981, the WBCA promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls. For additional information about the WBCA, please visit