Stanford's Tara VanDerveer became the sixth women's basketball coach to reach the 800-win plateau after the Cardinal defeated San Francisco, 100-45, on Wednesday night:


Tennessee's Pat Summitt
For nearly four decades, the University of Tennessee's Pat Head Summitt has kept the Lady Vol basketball program among the nation's elite. Summitt, already the all-time winningest coach in NCAA basketball history (men or women), entered the 2010-11 season with eight NCAA championships, including her most recent back-to-back titles in 2007 and 2008.

Summitt stands alone at the 1,000-victory plateau among all NCAA coaches, having passed the 900-win club members Don Meyer, Herb Magee, Bob Knight and Jody Conradt.

In all of men's and women's collegiate basketball history, Summitt trails only UCLA's John Wooden for the most NCAA titles. Wooden grabbed 10 titles in 29 years; Summitt has picked up eight in 36 seasons (including the NCAA's first back-to-back-to-back women's titles in 1996, 1997 and 1998). Additionally, Summitt passed Wooden's NCAA record for Final Four appearances with her 13th in 2002 and now 18.


Texas' Jody Conradt
Prior to her career at the University of Texas, Conradt served as women's head coach at Sam Houston State University (1969-73) and at the University of Texas at Arlington (1973-76).

In Conradt's first season with Texas, the team went 36–10. The team was ranked in the top 10 all but one year in the 1980's, including a string of four years -- 1984–1988 -- where they earned the No. 1 ranking.

In 38 seasons her record was 900-306. During her tenure at Texas, Conradt was 783–245, including a stretch between January 1978 and January 1990 when the Lady Longhorns did not lose a Southwest Conference game -- a streak of 183 consecutive conference victories.

Conradt was inducted to the Basketball Hall of Fame in 1998 and into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame in 1999.


Rutgers' C. Vivian Stringer
Stringer arrived at Rutgers in July 1995, and in 1998 her team posted its first 20-win season in four years, winning the Big East title with a 14-4 regular-season record. In 2000, her team went to the Final Four. In 2007, Rutgers again reached the Final Four.

In 2008, Stringer became the third women's coach to win 800 games, and also led the Scarlet Knights to the Elite Eight.

Stringer has been named the National Coach of the Year three times (Wade Trophy, 1982; Converse, 1988; and Naismith, 1993).

In recognition of her accomplishments and service to the game, Stringer was inducted into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame in 2001. She also was inducted to the Basketball Hall of Fame in 2009.


North Carolina's Sylvia Hatchell
Hatchell was inducted into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame in 2004, and is one of only six head coaches to reach the 800-win plateau. She is the third-winningest active coach in the nation. She has been named national coach of the year three times and has led teams to at least 20 wins 26 times, fifth-most nationally.

While Hatchell keeps impressive company in many categories, she is also part of an exclusive club that features just one member. When UNC defeated Louisiana Tech to win the 1994 NCAA Championship, Hatchell became the first and only coach to lead teams to national championships at the AIAW, NAIA and NCAA levels. Hatchell, who came to Chapel Hill in 1986, entered this season with a record of 559-214.

Prior to taking over the Tar Heel program, Hatchell guided Francis Marion to a 272-80 mark in 11 seasons.


Bentley's Barbara Stevens
Of all the people to coach women’s basketball at the Division II level, no one has recorded more victories than Stevens.

Stevens entered the 2010-11 season -- her 34th year as a head coach and 25th at Bentley -- needing only seven wins to join the elite 800-win club. Bentley rewarded Stevens with her 800th victory on Sunday, a 93-60 win against C.W. Post.

Stevens was among the 2006 inductees into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame. Stevens has been the winningest coach in Division II history since Feb. 6, 1999 -- victory No. 520, pushing her past Darlene May of Cal Poly Pomona.

Of the top 10 winningest coaches in NCAA women’s basketball history, only Tennessee's Pat Summitt has averaged more victories per season than Stevens.


Stanford's Tara VanDerveer
In a storied 32-year coaching career, VanDerveer has established herself as one of the top coaches in history. Regarded as one of the most well-respected names in the country, VanDerveer's contributions to the sport were recognized in April 2002, as she was inducted into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame.

A10-time Pac-10 Coach of the Year, VanDerveer has accumulated an impressive 800-197 record in her 32-year career. In 25 years as the head coach of the Stanford women's basketball program, VanDerveer is 648-146. During her tenure on The Farm, she has led the Cardinal to two NCAA Championships, eight NCAA Final Four appearances, 18 Pacific-10 Conference titles and 22 trips to the NCAA Tournament.

VanDerveer earned her first NCAA Championship in 1989-90, after the Cardinal won its first 20 games en route to a 32-1 overall mark. The Cardinal earned its second title in 1991-92.

Women's Basketball: 800 Wins
Rank Coach School Wins Losses
1 Pat Summitt Tennessee 1,048 198
2 C. Vivian Stringer Rutgers 850 300
3 Sylvia Hatchell North Carolina 842 294
4 Barbara Stevens Bentley 800 231
  Tara VanDerveer Stanford 800 197
Through Dec. 22, 2010