The 2010-11 Academic All-America women’s basketball teams were announced on Thursday. Senior forward Maya Moore of Connecticut and senior guard Tori Hansen of West Liberty were named the Academic All-Americans of the Year in the University and College divisions.

An individualized major with a 3.70 GPA, Moore is the first University Division women’s basketball player to repeat as Academic All-America of the Year. Lindsey Dietz of Minnesota Duluth was named as the College Division Academic All-America of the Year in 2005 and 2006.

A Mathematics Education major with a 4.00 GPA, Hansen is West Liberty’s all-time leading scorer with 2,170 points. She became the Hilltoppers’ career rebounding leader on Feb. 21 with 868 career rebounds.

The University Division first team included: Moore, Erin Anthony (Senior, Army), Kathleen Barry (Senior, Columbia), Amanda Johnson (Junior, Oregon) and Liz Repella (Senior, West Virginia). The second team honored: Angie Bjorklund (Senior, Tennessee), Jacqui Kalin (Junior, Northern Iowa), Danielle Robinson (Senior, Oklahoma), Kaihla Szunko (Senior, Central Michigan) and Jasmine Thomas (Senior, Duke). The third team listed Jenna Bartsokas (Senior, Lipscomb), Amanda Best (Senior, New Mexico), Rachel Clancy (Graduate student, Cal Poly), Alyssa Karel (Senior, Wisconsin) and Kayla Tetschlag (Senior, Wisconsin-Green Bay).

The College Division includes NCAA Division II and III athletes as well as NAIA players. The first team included: Hansen, Whitney Ballinger (Senior, Campbellsville), Lindsey Kentner (Senior, Charleston), Samantha Murphy (Senior, Grand Canyon) and Kathryn Stockbower (Senior, Swarthmore). The second team included Carol Cayo (Junior, Milwaukee Engineering), Jessilyn Conicelli (Senior, Biola), Erin Hollinger (Junior, Case Western Reserve), Kristen Kush (Junior, William Smith) and Melissa McQuade (Senior, Kutztown). Third-teamers included: Sharwil Bell (Junior, Rhodes), Reyana Colson (Senior, Cal Poly Pomona), Becca Hurley (Senior, Northwestern (Iowa)), Erica Nord (Senior, Concordia-Moorhead) and Marissa Young (Senior, Saint Xavier).

Need to Know
• DePauw senior guard Katie Matthews became the 12th player in DePauw women’s basketball history to reach 1,000 career points, achieving the milestone in the championship game of the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament. The Tigers defeated Hendrix 80-71 to earn an eighth consecutive trip to the NCAA Tournament and 12th in the last 16 seasons. Matthews was named the tournament MVP.

• TCU’s Helena Sverrisdottir was named the Mountain West Conference Player of the Week. The senior led the Horned Frogs to wins against Utah and New Mexico and second place in the MWC standings. Sverrisdottir missed just one shot in 36 minutes of action against Utah, going 6-for-7 from the field and 5-6 from 3-point range and a perfect 6-for-6 from the free-throw line for 23 points with six rebounds and six assists. Against New Mexico, she scored 24 points with eight assists.

Tennessee's Pat Summitt

• UCLA senior Darxia Morris was named the Pacific-10 Conference Player of the Week as the Bruins clinched second place in the Pac-10 standings, improving to 24-3 (14-2 Pac-10). Morris led UCLA to a road sweep of the Arizona schools, scoring 13 points in both games with seven assists, three steals and zero turnovers on the weekend.

• Southeastern Conference 2011 postseason awards were announced Tuesday. Tennessee’s Shekinna Stricklen was named Player of the Year and Pat Summitt captured Coach of the Year honors. Kentucky’s Victoria Dunlap was named Defensive Player of the Year, Vanderbilt’s Stephanie Holzer was named 6th Woman of the Year and Tennessee’s Meighan Simmons was selected as Freshman of the Year. Mississippi State’s Mary Kathryn Govero was named Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Quick Hits
• Saint Vincent junior forward Brittany Sedlock was named the President’s Athletic Conference Women’s Basketball Player of the Year.

• Thomas More’s Brian Neal was named the PAC Coach of the Year.

• Central Oklahoma’s Ashley Beckley was named the Lone Star Conference North Division Player of the Year and West Texas A&M’s Jamie Simmons took the same award in the South Division.

• The LSC Tournament begins Wednesday in Bartlesville, Okla.

• Tennessee is the top seed in the SEC Women’s Basketball Tournament, which begins on Thursday at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn. The top-four teams, Tennessee, Kentucky, Vanderbilt and Georgia, receive first-round byes.

• Division II’s top-ranked team, Clayton State, plays host to Montevallo in the 2011 Peach Belt Tournament quarterfinals on Wednesday. The Lakers are 28-0 on the season and a win on Wednesday would tie the single-season record for victories.