ATLANTA – Connecticut and Notre Dame each have three players on the 2011-12 preseason Wade Watch list for the Wade Trophy, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced.

Representing Connecticut on the 2011-12 Wade Watch list are Stefanie Dolson, Bria Hartley and Tiffany Hayes. Notre Dame is represented by Skylar Diggins, Natalie Novosel and Devereaux Peters.

Placing two players on the list are Baylor (Brittney Griner and Odyssey Sims), Miami (Shenise Johnson and Riquna Williams), Stanford (sisters Chiney Ogwumike and Nneka Ogwumike) and Tennessee (Glory Johnson and Shekinna Stricklen).

Hayes, Nneka Ogwumike and Stricklen appear on the Wade Watch list for the third consecutive year. Delaware’s Elena Della Donne, DePaul’s Keisha Hampton and Georgetown’s Sugar Rodgers join Diggins, Griner, Shenise Johnson and Williams on the list for the second consecutive year.

The Big East dominates the list with nine players, followed by the Big 12 with four, the ACC, Pac-12 and Southeastern conferences with three each, the Big Ten with two, and the Colonial Athletic with one.

Here is the complete list of preseason candidates for the 2012 Wade Trophy in alphabetical order:

2011 Preseason Wade Watch
Player Institution Position Year
LaSondra Barrett Louisiana State F Sr.
Alex Bentley Penn State G Jr.
Cierra Bravard Florida State F Sr.
Carolyn Davis Kansas F Jr.
Elena Delle Donne Delaware F Jr.
Skylar Diggins Notre Dame G Jr.
Jasmine Dixon UCLA F Sr.
Stefanie Dolson Connecticut C Jr.
Brittney Griner Baylor F Jr.
Keisha Hampton DePaul F Sr.
Bria Hartley Connecticut G Jr.
Tiffany Hayes Connecticut G Sr.
Glory Johnson Tennessee F Sr.
Shenise Johnson Miami G Sr.
Natalie Novosel Notre Dame G Sr.
Chiney Ogwumike Stanford F So.
Nneka Ogwumike Stanford F Sr.
Devereaux Peters Notre Dame F Sr.
Jamie Printy Iowa G Jr.
Monique Reid Louisville F Sr.
Sugar Rodgers Georgetown G Jr.
Odyssey Sims Baylor G So.
Shekinna Stricklen Tennessee G Sr.
Tyra White Texas A&M G Sr.
Riquna Williams Miami G Sr.

Now in its 35th year, the Wade Trophy is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. 

A committee of coaches, administrators and media from across the U.S. compiled the list using the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.