FORT COLLINS, Colo. -- The Women’s National Invitation Tournament Selection Committee is excited to announce the 64-team field for the 2012 Postseason WNIT.  The WNIT is celebrating its 15th season and has selected one of its most competitive fields in tournament history featuring 36 teams with 20 or more wins this season.


First-round action tips off on Wednesday, March 14, and concludes on Friday, March 16.  Second-round games begin March 17-19, round three March 21-23, quarterfinals March 24-26, and semifinals March 28-29.  The championship game will be played on Saturday, March 31. All games are hosted by participating schools.   

The Pac-12, Colonial and Atlantic 10 led all conferences with five teams represented in this year’s field. The Big East, Big West, Mid-American and Missouri Valley each added 4. Other conferences represented in the field include: Atlantic Coast (3), Southern (3), Summit (3), America East (2), Big 12 (2), Conference USA (2), Sun Belt (2), West Coast (2), Atlantic Sun (1), Big Sky (1), Big South (1), Horizon (1), Ivy (1), MAAC (1), MEAC (1), Mountain West (1), Northeast (1), Ohio Valley (1), Patriot (1), Southland (1), SWAC (1) and WAC (1).